Doesn't shutdown or restart

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jblazea50, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. jblazea50

    jblazea50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Every time I try to shutdown or restart the Windows 7 build 7000, it doesn't do anything. I have to press the power button and shut it down manually.

    What can be the problem?

     
  2. kaptinkurk

    kaptinkurk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having the same problem. Be nice if a support team could help us out or point us in the right direction.

    Im also in the 7000 build.
     
  3. Jordan

    Jordan Guest

    Well it's working fine for me, perhaps your drivers are incompatible. Try booting into Safe Mode.


    Best

    Jordan
     
  4. kaptinkurk

    kaptinkurk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    What drivers would I update? I can login in normal mode fine i just can't shutdown, restart, log off, etc.
     
  5. crazy_cjenkins

    crazy_cjenkins New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    Doesn't really sound like a driver issues i'm not even sure a driver is used in that process I think Its just a command that windows sends to the bios, could be wrong. :confused: Does It even act like it's trying to shut down? Give you and Error Message? Freeze up? can you here any hard drive activity start up right after you hit shut down (or hd drive light start Blinking)? Sounds Like a bug to me. Anybody reported it yet?
     
  6. kaptinkurk

    kaptinkurk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does nothing. It just sits there. Never shows any signs that it is trying to shut down or anything...:mad:

    Yeah idk if anyone reported it yet or not...
     
  7. jblazea50

    jblazea50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just re-installed windows 7 and now it's working fine...never figured out the entire problem
     
  8. kaptinkurk

    kaptinkurk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have reformatted 5 times since using Windows 7. There is always some little error that happens that makes A LOT of errors and then makes my computer nonoperational.

    Anyway anyone finds a fix then let me know mean while I really don't care because I don't shutdown my computer anyway. But it would be nice to fix so i know it works...
     
  9. ShadowGun

    ShadowGun New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am getting this problem off and on hoping it going to be fixed soon.
     
  10. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    I am going to guess that you have a program installed on your computer that is interfering with the shutdown and restart of the system. I have heard no one else report such an error yet so it does not seem to be the beta. Can you list all software packages you have installed on your pc?
     
  11. kaptinkurk

    kaptinkurk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Norton360, teamspeak, microsoft office, firefox, filezilla, adobe acrobat reader and presenter.

    That is all the programs i have installed so far :p lol
     
  12. DaHound

    DaHound New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi to everyone. Just saw this forum yesterday. I loaded this release (7000) and have been testing out some things. I have done a shutdown and seen the Windows is shutting down message and then nothing. I have also seen it work properly. Don't have very much loaded on it at this time other then FSX. Mainly trying to see the speed difference between Vista and Win-7. I'll post other things in the appropriate threads as they occur.
     
  13. daisuke

    daisuke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I've been having a problem much like this that I posted about in the thread of someone else, as my problem was more similar to theirs. In addition to not being able to shut down I am having issues with windows explorer.

    Anyway, the only program I have in common with yours is firefox. I'm not sure if that is the problem though because it is a common program and other people seem to be getting along fine.

    I posted more about this problem in this thread
    http://windows7forums.com/windows-7-support/1084-windows-explorer-shutdown-problem.html#post6036
     
  14. creepy

    creepy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can restart, my issue is when i select shutdown, my laptop immediately restarts. haven't had a whole lot of luck with sleep mode either. it ssems like the screen shuts down, but that's it.

    toshiba satellite
     
  15. Pennstater

    Pennstater New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I click "Shut Down" from the Start menu, Windows notifies me that it is logging off, then notifies me it is shutting down. That's good. My screen then goes black, but the computer itself never actually shuts off; it simply restarts. My BIOS settings have remained unchanged since I using Windows XP (different harddrive) and XP had no problems actually turning off the computer. I verified in the BIOS that all of the "wake on..." settings have been disabled. I went into Windows' Power Options control panel applet and made sure that the setting, "When shut down is clicked, perform the following action... Shut Down" I checked my keyboard and mouse device driver settings (they are PS2) to make sure there are no "wake on..." settings enabled there (and there aren't). I also checked my network adapter in device manager and did uncheck the "wake on..." feature there. I think I covered everything. I only installed a Print Driver (made for Vista x64), but the shut down issue was occuring before that anyway. My system specs are as follows...

    Gigabyte GA-N650SLI-DS4
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6550
    Crucial Ballistix 2Gb (2x1Gb)
    EVGA 8800GTS 640Mb
    Hitachi 80Gb HDD (Pata - was laying around so used it)
    Plextor PX760A DVD-R/W
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750
     
  16. flores.uprm

    flores.uprm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Multiple attempts

    When I have a crashed program (all too frequent) I have to restart or shutdown to be able to even use the programs. In cases like that, I find I usually have to repeatedly click on restart or shutdown for it to work, and then it takes forever.
     
  17. Horhhe

    Horhhe Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried to kill non-responsive programs in task manager?
     
  18. flores.uprm

    flores.uprm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, and it doesn't work. The windows remain and I cannot reopen the programs until I've restarted, which then requires multiple attempts.

    The OS shuts down fine if there are no crashes.
     
  19. brainjfk

    brainjfk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issue. Won't shut down or restart.. I have to hold power button to restart. Maybe its a virus.
     
  20. kaptinkurk

    kaptinkurk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, i don't believe this is a virus. All of my problems were fixed on the last update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...