DWM / Aero problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by DJakub, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. DJakub

    DJakub New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using W7 with aero for months... till now. I tried to use Remote control from my PPC and I dont know why, but Aero is now disabled. I tried to enable it by Troubleshooting, but I got "Desktop window manager is disabled" message and it cant be fixed. DWM service and process is running. I dont know what to do... (maybe problem with Live Mesh?)
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Your remote control from your PPC, what exactly is that? If it's for Media Center or a TV card., it may have changed your resolution to windows basic for compatibility. So Aero probably wouldn't work.

    have you looked in task manager to see if dwm is running?
     
  3. DJakub

    DJakub New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    #3 DJakub, Feb 25, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2009
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I'm not absolutely certain about this, but when I've used 3rd party remote control apps, it lowers the resolution on the target machine.

    It gives you the Windows basic theme and therefore you get no Aero effects.
     
  5. DJakub

    DJakub New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    But how to set it back? When I tried it, I got error "Desktop window manager is disabled" ...
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try this first:
    To enable Aero
    Click on the Start Button and in the Search box type Aero. Now click on Find and Fix problems with transparency and other visual effects.. Immediately an Aero box will pop up. Click the Advanced link and place a check in the box to automatically fix errors.
    No click the Next button and you'll get a progress bar detecting problems. If the results all are checked with none of them failed, then your computer can support Aero. The Aero feature will work immediately, so just choose Close the Troubleshooter.

    ==========================================
    This works on the 32-bit version. make sure to create a Restore Point just in case.

    Enable Aero in Windows 7 with Registry Hack

    1. Click on Start and type regedit at run

    2. Now Navigate to the following registry key:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\DWM

    3. In the right details pane, create following Three DWORD (32-bit value) entry
    UseMachineCheck, and set its value to 0.
    Blur, and set its value to 0.
    Animations, and set its value to 0.

    4. Close Regedit

    5. Click on Start and type CMD with administrative Priviliges

    6. Now type following command
    Net Stop uxsms
    Net Start uxsms
    Above command will stop and start Desktop Window Manager Session Manager.

    7. Now Attempt to Enable Aero by right clicking on desktop-> Personalize ->Windows Colors.
     
    #6 reghakr, Feb 25, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2009
  7. DJakub

    DJakub New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 32-bit version but it doesnt work! Always same problem. DWM is running but Im getting same error...
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Desktop Window Manager (DWM, previously Desktop Compositing Engine or DCE) is a compositing window manager, introduced with Windows Vista, that enables the Windows Aero graphical user interface and visual theme. The Desktop Window Manager requires video cards supporting DirectX 9.0 and Shader Model 2.0. DWM is not included with Windows Vista Starter edition. It is included with Windows Vista Home Basic edition, but with some aspects of the Windows Aero interface (such as transparent Glass and Flip 3D) disabled. It is also included with Windows Server 2008, but requires the "Desktop Experience" feature and compatible graphics drivers to be installed
     
  9. DJakub

    DJakub New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, maybe I didnt say it correctly. DWM process is running... But Aero NOT!
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you try what I suggested in post #6?
     
  11. DJakub

    DJakub New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i tried (post 7 :)
     
  12. kevin from Chi-town

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    8
    I dont think Aero works at all while using remote desktop, 3rd party or not. Whem I RDP into mine it automatically stuts AERO off.
     
  13. DJakub

    DJakub New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    But I only tried remote desktop. Im not using it!! But now I cant get Aero working...
     
  14. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try looking in Event Viewer under Windows Logs > Application and look for Error warnings.
     
  15. DJakub

    DJakub New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think any of them has something to do with this problem :( ...
     
  16. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Check out the similar links on the bottom of this page and look over those postings.
     
  17. jimbo45

    jimbo45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    41
    Error -- wrong thread
    cheers
    jimbo
     
  18. rbeier1221

    rbeier1221 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar problem after connecting to a projector. My computer was more than capable of running Aero and dwm.exe was running, but Aero would not run. Eventually I did an "upgrade" install and it is now fixed.
     
  19. adhoc

    adhoc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    aero cannot be enabled

    I am also having this issue. Now on my 4th install of W7 (ive tried build 7000 twice, 7057, now 7100), the system works beautifully for a couple days then (seemingly randomly) I get to the desktop with a popup on the taskbar saying there was an error starting the "system event notification service service [sic]" and i've lost aero. The aero troubleshooting tool cannot fix the problem, and I cannot enable it using the registry hack.

    I am having nearly identical problems to those cited here.

    Any help?
     
  20. Gune Baxan

    Gune Baxan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem too.

    when I start my system, everything is normal but when I choose sleep and wake up system again, aero mode is disable.
    In this mode if I run a video file, windows is crashing.

    I tried post #7 instructions but my problem not solved.
    -----------------------
    Sorry about my English!
     

Share This Page

Loading...