Everything running 32 bit

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by dompoma, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. dompoma

    dompoma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not sure why, but since I have upgraded to win 8, all of my programs are running in 32 bit that were previously running 64 bit on win 7. Any reasons for this?
    32 bit.PNG
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    317
    Can you post a screen shot of system information. Move mouse to lower left corner to show start screen popup, right click to get the admin menu, then select system.
     
  3. dompoma

    dompoma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    system.PNG Thanks for your help.
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    317
    I just wanted to verify your system is 64 bit. Now, the software titles that are in question, are they 64 bit software when they were installed in windows 7.

    Did you upgrade to windows 8 or preform a clean install of windows 8?
     
  5. dompoma

    dompoma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wiped my computer and before I installed win 8. I then re-installed all of the programs. The software titles have the option to be 32 bit or 64 bit.
     
  6. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    317
    This is not normal, software is either downloaded or purchased as either 32 bit or 64 bit. There are a few exceptions and the only exceptions that I know of are operating systems. When purchasing a MS OS as a retail version and not OEM, you get both versions of bit type.

    So you either have the wrong bit type installed or there is something else going on here.

    What software in particular are we talking about here? Where did you get if from?
     
  7. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    This is completely normal. The apps in question are 32bit as are most apps but the OS is 64bit
     
  8. dompoma

    dompoma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks nmsuk. Are apps and programs the same thing?
     
  9. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Yes they are.
     
  10. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    You can purchase a 64-bit version of Office to resolve that issue, but I honestly don't see any benefits in doing so.
     

Share This Page

Loading...