fax utility

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by DWFII, May 5, 2010.

  1. DWFII

    DWFII New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a pretty new Win 7 pro 64 bit system.

    I have set the machine up to use the included fax utility. Usually it works as expected. More often, however, I get a message...as the program is closing...that "the remote fax machine did not respond in time and the call was terminated."

    Most of the time (so far, every time) the fax goes through and is received on the other end. But the error message is worrisome and, more importantly, the fax utility will not store the fax in the "sent items" folder.

    It has had this problem since nearly the day I received it. I have not added a lot of programs to the system yet. In other words, this is not a cluttered or overloaded system. I run virus software (Microsoft Security Essentials) and occasionally a malware scanner.


    Any thoughts?
     
  2. carnivore

    carnivore New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    More than likely the error you are seeing is associated to incompatibility between your fax modem and the receiving fax machine. It would help if you can tell us more about the fax/modem you are using to be able to better help you.
     
  3. DWFII

    DWFII New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for responding. I was beginning to wonder if anyone would.

    The modem is a US Robotics 56K PCI. I took it out of a Win XP system. I am dialing all the same numbers I dialed when the modem was on the XP machine and it never had a problem then.

    As I said, currently (on Win 7 pro) the modem is working...dialing, negotiating, and connecting...I am thinking that it is the Windows 7 software (the fax utility) especially since it is the closing and recording of the sent fax that is at issue.

    Ii might add that the errant behaviour is the norm and anytime the fax utility closes properly it is rare.
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Where did you get the x64 driver for the modem?
     
  5. DWFII

    DWFII New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't believe I did. Although when you're just setting up a new computer , so much is going on you can forget that you downloaded and installed a new driver for a particular device.
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I was just thinking that perhaps the driver came from Win 7 and may not be for your specific device. If you can find a Win 7 driver, you might try that.

    Just guessing, I have no information that this would be the case.
     
  7. carnivore

    carnivore New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, silly me I didn't think about win7 being 64 bit.

    check this page f against your specific model no for compatibility
    Windows 7 Compatibility for us robotics: Drivers, Updates, Downloads

    The other thing you can try is to consult any manual in regards to extended commands which might help in increasing compatability with other fax machines. Usualy you can specify extra commands in the setup for the modem ..
     
    #7 carnivore, May 7, 2010
    Last edited: May 7, 2010

Share This Page

Loading...