Headset and speakers

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Software' started by KevinZ, Feb 16, 2015.

  1. KevinZ

    KevinZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi! Im new to the forums and all so I'm sorry if this doesn't belong here.

    So basically i have a problem with my headset and speakers. I have a speaker that a slot for me to plug in a headset. My speaker is a insignia-2.0 stereo computer speaker system (2-piece)- Black. you can search this up on bestbuy or something since it didnt allow me to post a link.

    I've never really tried to talk into my headset but when i did today, it didn't work. I tried playing around with the sound options and i noticed only speakers show up in playback sounds. My headset doesn't show up there.

    To sum it all up, i want to be able to use my headset while its connected to my speaker and see if its passible.


    Thanks!!
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    KevinZ likes this.
  3. KevinZ

    KevinZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh ok. But i tried to unplug them and see if the headset appears in the playback sounds, it doesn't. i have a dell inspiron 3847 if that can tell you why that doesn't appear when i unplug the speakers.
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Does you headset have a mic? Does you headset have one or two 3.5mm plugs?
     
  5. KevinZ

    KevinZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    my headset does have a mic. It has 1 3.5mm plug.
     
  6. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Generally, with headsets that use 3.5mm plugs, there are 2, 1 for audio and 1 for mic. I've not seen a headset with a mic that only has 1 3.5mm plug. What's the make and model of your headset?
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    As bassfisher6522 has already indicated...
    Headsets with a single cord / connector / jack are usually reserved for telephone use, typically cordless or cell phones.
    For the most part PCs on the other hand require two separate connections (jacks), usually color coded as "green" for speakers / headphones and a light shade of "red" often "pink" for the microphone either desktop or integrated into your headset.
    If you look at the connections that are on your PC you will likely be able to see those connectors (ports) with the color coding and perhaps even small symbols indicating their usage.
     
    KevinZ likes this.
  8. KevinZ

    KevinZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the late response, celebrating chinese new year.

    But my headset is a tritton kunai. I looked in my box today and found many wires just like trouble said, green and pink. I really didnt care about those until now because i used this headset for my laptop with only the 1 3.5mm jack and it works perfectly fine without the others.

    Now that i know i need these green and pink wires, where should i plug them so that i can plug my headset in without unplugging my speakers?
     
  9. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
  10. KevinZ

    KevinZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the universal tritton kunai.

    Will this allow me to have both my speakers and headset plugged in at the same time?
     
  11. nesoor

    nesoor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to make sure, did you already tried to enable "Show Disabled Devices" and "Show Disconnected Devices" in the Playback Devices?
     

Share This Page

Loading...