How can I remove Tweakbit?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by steven proctor, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. steven proctor

    steven proctor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    After uninstaling Fix My PC from Tweakbit it keeps coming back. Can anyone tell me how to remove it completely?
     
  2. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Not sure but sometimes the company that developed the program has an uninstaller at their site.
     
  3. steven proctor

    steven proctor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used the programs uninstaller. When it came back up I used CC cleaner and it came back, then I went to regedit and deleted all the entries I could and still it comes back
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  5. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Also Revo uninstaller, just be careful during the install to read all the screens so you don't get some unwanted programs.
     
  6. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    If the reg is infected then a re-install of Windows is the only sure way.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,797
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Agreed.. :)
     
  8. steven proctor

    steven proctor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your tips folks, I finally managed to remove it. I searched in This PC, found more items and CC Cleaner got the rest.
     
  9. Paul L

    Paul L New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Malwarebytes Pro and Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit. Neither was able to rid my computer of Tweakbits. Boy, that is a persistant , annoying problem! Who are these jerks? I tried the "Hitman Pro" anti-malware trial download and Hitman sniffed-it-out in three files and deleted it at my prompt. It seems to be gone..I plan on buying Hitman Pro if Tweakbits remains in purgatory. So far, so good!

    Three days later, no Tweakbits. Hope Hitman sent it to Cyber-Hell...
     
    #9 Paul L, Dec 18, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
  10. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,391
    Likes Received:
    360
    This may be the correct one I would look for the following files and registry entries. If you are unable to delete a give file, download procexp and use the Find Handle or Dll feature to find what has open handles and you can manually close them so you can delete the files or boot in safe mode to clean out the files. PUA.TweakBitPCSpeedUp Technical Details | Symantec
     
  11. WINDOWSUSER1511

    WINDOWSUSER1511 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tweakbit was installed on my computer thanks to an ATT tech installing Uverse in my home and speedtesting the computer.Having the same problem with Tweakbit. Did the uninstall in control panel but still getting the Tweakbit Statusmonitor pop up windows. I guess first would simply installing the upgrade from Windows 8 to Windows 10 clear this from the registry? Or should I remove it before upgrading? If so, would restoring the computer back to a point before this software installed work or should I reinstall Windows 8? Not sure what would work to eradicate Tweakbit from my computer, any suggestions/advice/info would be great.
     
  12. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,391
    Likes Received:
    360
    You can simply delete all the files associated with it in my previous post. Also it would still be there if you upgraded.
     

Share This Page

Loading...