Installing 7127 over 7100

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Carterman32, May 16, 2009.

  1. Carterman32

    Carterman32 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that users were unable to upgrade from the beta to the RC, but is it possible to install RC 7127 over 7100 without doing a clean install?
     
  2. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Short answer.. no.. ;)

    Longer answer, yes but after mucking around a little first.. ;) Build 7127 is from the RTM branch so unfortunately it's not as simple as just upgrading from the RC.. A clean install is the way to go.. :)
     
  3. Busch-Jensen

    Busch-Jensen New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't upgrade from 7100 to 7127 - howto?

    Hello! Yes - that may be true - but how? I just finish downloading build 7127 and is now trying to upgrade my "old" build 7100. Each time I start the installation proccess it pops out with this message:

    "The following issues are preventing Windows from upgrading. Cancel the upgrade, complete each task, and then restart the upgrade to continue.

    Your current version of Windows is more recent than the version you are trying to upgrade to. Windows cannot complete the upgrade. "


    How can this be? And can I fool the Windows 7 installation to believe otherwise?

    Best,
    Busch-Jensen
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I agree with Radenight,

    The best option is a "clean" install, plain and simple.

    When you choose the upgrade route, hundreds of useless files and left behind on your system
     
  5. stealth2920

    stealth2920 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any big difference or any real reason to move from 7100? I have installed most of my programs and games etc. and everything is running almost perfect. Any serious reason to start all over again I guess is my question. Thanks
     
  6. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Your getting these errors because like I said. build 7127 is from the RTM branch.. it is NOT another RC build.. ;) Therefore, upgrading is NOT a good idea.. A clean install is the way install build 7127.. :) As for fooling Win 7 into letting you upgrade.. you may be able to but it's just not worth it.. Clean install takes 14-15 mins (via USB drive) vs whatver retarded amount of time it would take you to work around those errors.. ;)

    The differences between the RC and builds 7127, 7130, 7140 (ALL from the RTM branch) are so far negligable.. I wouldn't bother installing them.. The RC works fine and is very stable... If you've got your system running near perfect then I wouldn't mess with it by installing another build that honestly doesn't bring any major changes to the table.. :)
     
    #6 Radenight, May 17, 2009
    Last edited: May 17, 2009
  7. Busch-Jensen

    Busch-Jensen New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did a clean install - and - DOH - the build showed up as 7068! Wrong torrent... Will now try to get the real on... No wonder it told me that a newer version was already installed.

    Busch-Jensen

     
  8. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    That would do it.. ;) Oops.. :)
     
  9. stealth2920

    stealth2920 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I will leave my current RC alone since everything is working great so far.
     

Share This Page

Loading...