IPV4 properties

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by junglewolf, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. junglewolf

    junglewolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Under my Ipv4 properties in my lan adapter I cannot change my dns settings to obtain DNS server address automatically.Every time I do it reverts back to use the following dns server address.Is there anyway to correct this?I think this may be preventing me from accessing my security cameras from a remote computer.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    You can only have the dns server address assigned automatically if you have opted for the IP address to be assigned. If you have defined a manual IP address then dns must also be manual.
     
  3. junglewolf

    junglewolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The IPaddress is assigned automatically.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    In the properties of IPv4, click the "Advanced" button near bottom right.
    Select the DNS tab from the tab menu along the top
    Edit out (select and click remove) any entries there.
    There may also be registry entries here
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces-> Expand that parent key
    there will be a number of subkeys under that reflecting individual adapters (interfaces) installed select them one by one and examine the NameServer value in the right (data) pane for entries for hard coded DNS server addresses.
    You can double click to modify / remove the unwanted data values.
    As a last resort try resetting the TCP/IP stack.
    From an elevated command prompt type
    netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
    reboot

    Regards
    Randy
     
  5. junglewolf

    junglewolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did everything you suggested and it reverts back to the way it was.When i did the comand prompt and typed in netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt and rebooted I got a redbox error message but it disappeared so fast I didn't have time to read it,Thanks...Bob
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I guess as a last, last resort, you might try removing the problem adapter from device manager and rebooting the system. I would have thought that rebuilding the TCP/IP stack would have almost done the equivalent. Might be worth trying.
    Keep us posted.
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If that also fails to resolve your issue then I can only assume that you are running some third party software, scripts or batch files that may be setting the DNS to static values. This may be intentional or it could possibly be a malware infection resulting in a DNS hijack.
    If you think that there might be a possible infection grab a blank CD and this program Microsoft Standalone System Sweeper Beta | Microsoft Connect get the correct version for your system architecture (32 or 64bit)
    Double click the program and it will build a bootable CD for you, which will allow you to boot your computer independent of the operating system and perform a FULL system scan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...