Windows 8 Need Help trying to create Ubuntu VM in Windows 8?

MikeHawthorne

Essential Member
Microsoft Community Contributor
Hi

I've never used Virtual Machine before but I decided that I should get a handle on how it works.
I'm trying to create a virtual machine with Ubuntu in it.

I followed the instructions in this video step by step...

...and I have VM installed and running.

VMScreenUbuntu01_zpsa1f0b01b.jpg

The problem comes when I try and go to the next step.

When I double click on the Ubuntu Icon in VM to start the Ubuntu install process, it should ask where the Ubuntu ISO file is, instead I get this message...

VMError_zps8d11a5ed.jpg

Here's my directory structure...
Virtual Box is installed in the 001 Virtual Box folder and the Ubuntu.vdi file is where you see it.

FileStructure_zps95ff1a46.jpg

I've removed everything and repeated the process multiple times, but I always get the same result.

I know some of you use VM a lot, anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Mike

Hi Mike, try the approach I have outlined in this little tutorial. I made it with Mint but Ubuntu is exactly the same thing. Just follow the pictures.

I am not sure though about the tools (chapter 2). You may want to check whether those commands work with Ubuntu.

Btw: I like Mint Mate a lot better than Ubuntu (Mint is Ubuntu based). Here is a little demo video I made. But that's just an aside.

Hi

I did get past that point a little while ago after uninstalling and reinstalling a different version of VM.
Now it just sits at this screen....

UbuntuInstall_zps377d99d6.jpg

The Continue button never becomes active.
I'll check out your tutorial.

If I don't get this to work I'll try Mint.

Mike

Ps. I stopped everything, downloaded and older version of Ubuntu, 12.04 32 bit, created a disk.
I copied the ISO to my hard drive and I started VM and did the whole process over again with the same result. Still sitting at the above screen with an inactive Continue button.

Last edited:
Mike