Ping unable to find host for the first couple of pings

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Networking' started by geo77, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. geo77

    geo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I have a weird problem, I can ping certain hosts in my network without a problem, but certain others when I try to ping at first it will come back with Destination host unreachable, but after a minute of running "ping -t 192.168.1.140" it will find it and replies start coming back. I think it might be an issue with my machine, because I have another machine using the same wireless and wired connection and it works fine.

    When I stop pinging it and try pinging again after a minute or so, it can't find the host again.

    Thanks for any help, below is my configuration.


    $ ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : sergiob
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 16-35-30-2B-3B-39
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1705 802.11b/g/n (2.4GHZ)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 54-35-30-2B-3B-39
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.183(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, June 5, 2014 9:32:27 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, June 6, 2014 9:32:32 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{A38275CC-BC2C-4ECA-A9E3-09AF7DDEB4F5}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:86a:1b2b:9355:94bd(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::86a:1b2b:9355:94bd%7(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 369098752
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-7B-7D-2F-C8-1F-66-27-E5-53
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Try clearing your arp cache.
    From and elevated command prompt type
    netsh interface ip delete arpcache
    see if that helps
     
  3. geo77

    geo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, ran it but the issue persists..
     
  4. geo77

    geo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, this is really confusing me now, I installed a virtual machine using virtual box. I have the virtual network adapter in bridge mode, and it works flawlessly. I'm not even sure how this could be possible, if the actual adapter is having problems for the virtual one to work flawlessly.

    Any help, point of view, suggestion is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  5. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    314
    I’d say that your dhcp can’t tell the host machine from the virtual one… it’s just a guess but is the dhcp running from an internet router of some kind and if so then does it track the two machines as having the same name?

    p.s. if this is the case then setting a static mac address for the virtual machine and giving it a reserved ip address in the dhcp (reboot needed as well) is normally the best fix.
     

Share This Page

Loading...