My netbook ASUS is unable to connect to the inet

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by reinkefj, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. reinkefj

    reinkefj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything was working fine. Connecting to the inet at home and away. Fat dumb and happy.

    Last night, some automatic security fixes applied themselves.

    Suddenly WINDOZE7STARTER is forcing a "select a location for the '3TYNE7328215850 2' network.

    And, no internet connectivity. My Mac, my vista, my old XP are all perking along fat, dumb, and happy.

    Everything was work fine before..

    Notice the "space 2" on the end of the wireless lan name.

    There's no way to delete that "space 2" or to change it.

    WINDOZE7STARTER says that it can't create a 'home network group', but only join one. So there is no way to delete this or force it out.

    Numerous system rollbacks to dates in the past can NOT fix this.

    Argh!

    (It's to be my wife's machine for Christmas!)

    Here's my ipconfig /all


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ASUS
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 48-5B-39-81-5E-B9
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-4B-D6-FE-7D-60
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ed9d:a8ea:f652:9aad%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.102(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 16, 2010 8:34:23 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 23, 2010 8:53:12 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 236735446
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-89-6E-E8-1C-4B-D6-FE-7D-60
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1880D8E4-AD10-4D35-B33E-0DD04215ACB2}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FF68CFF4-C30B-4730-BA8E-D44D45CA4170}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Any help would be appreciated.
    :(
    fjohn
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    reinkefj;
    Hello and welcome to the forums. Everything looks good regarding the ip addressing scheme for your wireless adapter. So I suppose the first thing to determine is what can and can't you ping.
    Open a command prompt and ping yourself
    type ping 192.168.2.102 (that's you)
    then
    ping 192.168.2.1 (that's your default gateway / inside edge of your router)
    then
    ping 64.233.169.99 (that's google's ip)
    if that's successful copy and paste that same ip address into the address bar of your browser and hit enter. If the google website loads then your problem is with DNS, which may mean that the router is having trouble forwarding you DNS queries or that you have some third party software like mDNSresponder.exe running and it's messing with you.
     
  3. reinkefj

    reinkefj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    reinkefj; Hello and welcome to the forums.


    thanks

    type ping 192.168.2.102 (that's you)

    times out (?)

    ping 192.168.2.1 (that's your default gateway / inside edge of your router)

    first ping works and the rest time out (?)

    ping 64.233.169.99 (that's google's ip)

    time out


    Additional facts:

    (1) Thru up another wifi with some spare hardware to the same fios gateway. With a different wifi "name", works fine.

    (2) ASUS support says to "recover" (i.e., wipe the machine and start over). Seems like burning the bard to get rid of the mouse.

    (3) Have a MACBOOKAIR that just came back from being fixed. It works fine on both wifis.

    So I'm "working", but befuddled?

    Perhaps the "security fixes" that came down automagically from Microsoft, triggered a "Home Networking" setting, that then WINDOWS7STARTER could not fix.

    I guess the smartest thing is to "burn the barn" and start over.

    Luckily there's NOTHING valuable on the machine.

    Your thoughts?

    And, thanks for the response. You beat the ASUS support person's canned reply.

    fjohn
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    gonna have to say yes, that will probably get you further faster. But for future reference please do not allow Windows Updates to install any hardware driver software automagically. If you are not exactly sure how to turn off that particular "feature", then post back and I'll walk you through it. Microsoft updates are not generally considered a good source for hardware driver updates.
     
  5. reinkefj

    reinkefj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    TOOOooo come to closure, since the image was expendable, I took the ASUS SUPPORT's suggestion to do a system image restore. Yeah, burn down the barn is easier than fixing whatever obscure bug was triggered. It took an hour or so to rebuild itself. Then, about another hour to put back on my applications (i.e., firefox, tbird, open office, dropbox, etc etc) from the USBDRIVE with all the downloaded files. DROPBOX worked flawlessly and brought back my data. So after about three hours, I was back to where I was. :(

    p.s., I have auto updates turned off, but I apply them almost as soon as they come in and I'm using the machine. It is after all a backup platform. Argh! Now to get my wife to get her own darm YouTube videos and leave me out of the loop. I can only hope.
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Glad to hear that you have managed to resolve your issue. Unfortunately as you have noted it can be a giant pain, so in the future to help avoid this type of issue you may want to avoid using Windows Update to obtain driver updates for your hardware devices. To do so,
    right click computer and choose properties and follow the attachment. If you have any further issues please let us know.
     

Share This Page

Loading...