Problem maintaining a connection

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Rainbowdayz, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. Rainbowdayz

    Rainbowdayz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having a problem maintaining an Internet connection. My Internet co told me they were not seeing my linksys router and advised me to call linksys support for configuration. Linksys would not help me because the router is no longer under warranty. However, it appears to be working fine. All lights are on. When I lose the connection , if I disable and then enable my wireless network connection it immediately reconnects. It may hold for a minute or for several hours but eventually I have to repeat that action. I haven't changed the configuration of the router. Any ideas on what's causing the problem?
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Update the firmware of your router.
     
  3. Rainbowdayz

    Rainbowdayz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firmware? How do I do that ?
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    268
    The exact procedure will vary depending on the make and model of your router but use your browser to connect to your router and /browse to update the system firmware. If you need more help with doing this tell us the make and model of your routerand we can helpyou further.
     
  5. Rainbowdayz

    Rainbowdayz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx. I'll give it a try!
     
  6. Rainbowdayz

    Rainbowdayz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I've tried to figure it out for most of the morning. I have a linksys model WRT54G2 V1. If I key that in, it finds no updates. If I go to firmware updates I find a whole list and I have no idea which one (s) to choose. There doesn't seem to be a way to update all. I can't even figure out how to update one at a time. There are warnings about not doing certain things that might ruin the router. Driver updates are usually easy but I've never tried firmware. What a nightmare!
     
  7. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    You have to access your routers web based page by typing in the search bar the "192.168.x.x". By default the user name and password is admin and admin for linksys/cisco routers and just about any other brand of routers. Once in the router setup page you can and should change that.

    This should help....



    Accessing the router?s web-based setup page




    http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=how+to+update+linksys+firmware+for+WRT54G2+V1&view=detail&mid=54861441D8C28C4ED28954861441D8C28C4ED289&first=0&qpvt=how+to+update+linksys+firmware+for+WRT54G2+V1
     
    #7 bassfisher6522, Jan 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
  8. Rainbowdayz

    Rainbowdayz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give a shot. I'm pretty lost. Thx for the link for accessing the router!
     
  9. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    I just added a link for a video, it's step by step, simple and straight forward.
     
  10. Rainbowdayz

    Rainbowdayz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh thank u sooooo much. I really appreciate all ur help!
     
  11. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    With most modern routers, once in the web based page, updating the firmware is done for you once you click on "update firmware". Back in the day (just a few years back)...lol...you had to down load the file and follow about 12 steps to update the routers firmware. It was still pretty easy, just the long way to go about it. Now days it's zip zoom bang and it's done.
     
  12. Rainbowdayz

    Rainbowdayz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked! And it was so easy with the video instructions. I would never have figured it out. I'm going to save this info in case I need it in the future. Thx so much again? :thumbs_up:
     
  13. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Glad to here you got it sorted out...good job.
     

Share This Page

Loading...