Random BSOD after start-up

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by WojtekK1902, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello,
    I am writing with the problem of recurring BSOD, which happens randomly, almost always after the computer's start-up (ca. 2-5 mins). Important is the fact, that very often is not BSOD - computer also tends to freeze or it restarts without any BSOD (and this is worse case, because no dump file is created).
    I submitted my problem some time ago (in this thread: http://windowsforum.com/threads/bsod-random-bsods-and-hangs-at-startup.92606/). Following the advices, I bought a new PSU. About month ago, I also formatted my disk completely (more precisely, I zeroed it). There had been no faults for few weeks, but now the problem has returned...
    Of course I am attaching the zip file with logs W7F Diagnostic Tool, screens from CPU-Z and HTML file from PassMark RAMMon.
    Thank you in advance for any help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3D, {fffff800041fcff0, 0, 0, fffff80002a864fc}
    
    Probably caused by : hardware ( nt!KiInterruptHandler+29 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    out of the three dump files sent the earliest blamed Norton AV, the second blamed an NTFS or HDD issue and the above as you can see is pointing to hardware.

    SYMEVENT64x86.SYS Sat Jul 27 03:26:58 2013: Norton/Symantec. This app is infamous amongst debugging circles for causing issues.. Please use the tool found here and remove Norton: (you can always re-install later if Norton isn't the culprit)
    https://support.norton.com/sp/en/uk/home/current/solutions/kb20080710133834EN_EndUserProfile_en_us

    Run MSE in the meantime as this is super stable:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows/security-essentials-download

    If the bsod continues after removing Norton then try checking your C drive with a chkdsk:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/guide-to-using-check-disk-in-windows-vista/

    Rt64win7.sys Fri Jun 10 07:33:15 2011: Realtek RTL8168D/8111D Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet please update:
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

    Post any new dump files.
     
  3. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    Again there were one BSOD and one restart without BSOD. Unfortunately, I have no dump file, because I had wrong settings... I have already followed instructions from this topic: http://windowsforum.com/threads/where-are-dump-files-dmp-saved-after-crash.39784/ so I hope that next time new dump files will be created. Now, only the MEMORY.DMP was created but it's too big to attach it here (over 400 MB).

    I think that Norton just cannot be the reason - last time, when I had the same problems, I didn't have Norton - there was Microsoft Security Essentials installed on my computer.

    I'll try checking C drive and updating Realtek driver.

    I have one more question - you wrote that there is a hardware issue. Is there any way to get to know which part of hardware is problematic?
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Not straight off unless the issue is mentioned specifically. We can only test at this stage and go from there. If you really feel that Norton isn't the issue then leave it for now and just do the other stuff mentioned. You can always go back to it.
     
  5. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    I have checked disk with chkdsk. And there are results:

    Code:
     874257407 KB total disk space.
      79661744 KB in 126202 files.
         81224 KB in 31362 indexes.
             0 KB in bad sectors.
        345279 KB in use by the system.
         65536 KB occupied by the log file.
    794169160 KB available on disk.
    
          4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
    218564351 total allocation units on disk.
    198542290 allocation units available on disk.
    Moreover, I've updated Realtek Gigabit Ethernet.

    Could be there some more information about restarts without BSOD or freezes e.g. in event logs?
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    It's always worth a look.. :) Find command prompt in the start menu, right click on it, choose properties then run as admin. Type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results. This will check for and hopefully fix corrupt system files.
     
  7. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,
    I made sfc /scannow and there were no errors. Till now I had no BSOD nor any other problem. I'll write when there will be something new.
     
    kemical likes this.
  8. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, unfortunately my computer suddenly restarted again... And there was no BSOD, so I have no dump file. Is it possible to find information about this event in some other way so you could look at it somehow?
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Are you sure it was a bsod? Check the event log and see what that say's.
     
  10. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    As I have written, there was NO BSOD, that's why I have no dump file.
    Could you guide me how to check the event log?
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Oh right..ok. Open the control panel, click System and Security then look under Admin Tools. What actually happened, were you doing something in particular?
     
  12. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, today my computer restarted 2 times and there was one BSOD (as I can't attach it here (there is an error and information that server can't process this file because it is too large) you can find dump file there: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/74280466/093014-23868-01.dmp). And again I had the same problems: after the second restart I can't turn my computer on - I press the start button, I can hear the fans' noise but the monitor remains switched off (it is supposed to switch on automatically when the computer starts) - it doesn't receive any signal.

    When computer restarts or when there is BSOD, I do nothing special - this time I was checking my mail. But earlier all this happened also when noone was doing anything - there was no program on etc.

    I looked into the event log, there was information that there were 3 critical errors in the last hour. All these errors have Event-ID 41 and the source "Kernel-Power" and there is some data in XML:

    Code:
    - <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
    <EventID>41</EventID>
    <Version>2</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>63</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2014-09-30T08:49:39.791223300Z" />
    <EventRecordID>15914</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>Dom-Komputer</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    - <EventData>
    <Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
    <Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>
    <Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
    
    Moreover, I have some other (not critical) errors:
    80: SideBySide
    877: Application Popup
    1001: Dhcp-Client
    1001: BugCheck
    1005: BugCheck
    6008: EventLog
    36888: Schannel
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 19, {3, fffff80002c20730, fffff80002c20710, fffff80002c20730}
    
    Probably caused by : memory_corruption
    
    Followup: memory_corruption
    
    Hi,
    apologies about the upload situation. We had a major security issue over the weekend and we are still getting the house back in order. Hopefully it will be rectified soon.
    Now although the above say's memory corruption it's doubtful that it means your RAM is bad. The actual process which caused the above came from an Nvidia driver namely:
    NvStreamKms.sys.
    Apparently this driver has been known to cause issues and it might be worth you reading this link:
    https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/573811/nvidia-streamer-service-may-be-freezing-your-pc/

    Please check your GPU by running this test:
    http://mikelab.kiev.ua/index_en.php?page=PROGRAMS/vmt_en

    I see your running an Nvidia 9800GT could you post the make and model of your PSU please including age.

    Going through your event log errors:

    80: SideBySide:
    Possibly Adobe?
    Comments:
    EventID.Net
    ref:
    http://www.eventid.net/display-eventid-80-source-SideBySide-eventno-10679-phase-1.htm

    877: Application Popup:
    There was error [DATABASE OPEN FAILED] processing the driver database.
    ref:
    http://www.eventid.net/display-eventid-877-source-Application Popup-eventno-1992-phase-1.htm

    1001: Dhcp-Client:
    Your computer was not assigned an address from the network (by the DHCP server) for the network adapter with MAC address %1. The following error occurred:
    %2. Your computer will continue to try to obtain an address on its own from the DHCP server.
    ref:
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc774842(v=ws.10).aspx

    1001: BugCheck:
    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck.

    1005: BugCheck:
    Unable to produce a minidump file from the full dump file.

    6008: EventLog:
    36888: Schannel:
    Possibly Outlook? or another app which is used to access the net like STEAM or Origin

    Although the above doesn't carry a solution for each Event ID I did try and include as much info so you could at least know what needs looking at (although some are simply reports and don't need a follow up).

    Post back if I can help further.
     
  14. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    It is getting worse and worse... There were some restarts (still critical error, ID 41) and one BSOD again (you can find dump file here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/74280466/093014-29187-01.dmp). And again I have been unable to run my computer for a long time - a monitor couldn't turn on, because there was no signal - I had to turn it off and turn it on many times.

    I made a test of GPU by running the test you recommended (over 100 iterations) - there were no errors...

    Regarding my PSU - I have Be quiet! Pure Power L8-CM-530W BN181. It is one year old.

    Thank you for your help.
     
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 1000007E, {ffffffffc0000005, fffff80002bbba9b, fffff880033a8418, fffff880033a7c70}
    
    Probably caused by : Pool_Corruption ( nt!ExDeferredFreePool+1df )
    
    Followup: Pool_corruption
    
    Hi,
    It does sound like your GPU could be at fault. Try stress testing using this app:
    http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/
    Also is it possible for you to try the card in a different machine? Perhaps a friend will help?

    So we can eliminate them from the issue please test your RAM.

    Windows does have it's own memory testing app but it can often miss errors and the best app for the job is Memtest86. The latest version of which can be found here:
    http://www.memtest.org/

    To run Memtest86 you need to either burn a copy of it to disk or use a USB stick. If you look down the page you'll eventually find the latest version and it's associated downloads. If your burning to disk choose the pre-compiled iso zip. If your using a USB method then the corresponding download is the auto installer for a USB stick.
    Once you have Memtest86 on the media you selected you'll then need to enter your bios and change the boot order so that the machine will boot from either the disk or stick you have Memtest86 on.
    Try and run the test overnight, if possible try and run for 12hrs (some errors won't appear until the 12th hour) unless it becomes clear that there is a issue. If there is a problem with the RAM you'll see the errors pop up in red so you can't miss them.
     
  16. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, I made GPU test with FurMark, the results are below:
    [​IMG]

    I need some time to make RAM tests (since it will last 12 hours), I'll write when I'll have results.
    Thank you for your help!
     
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I'll await your next reply..
     
  18. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, I made RAM tests, I've run them for over 13 hours. There were no errors. What could I do now?
     
  19. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,848
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Well Norton is always worth a try plus you can always re-install it later. Just make sure you use the removal tool specified above.

    You could also try running one stick of RAM only. If the machine bsod's then change slots and test again. If you find a slot which doesn't bsod then you know a slot is bad.
     
    #19 kemical, Oct 1, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2014
  20. WojtekK1902

    WojtekK1902 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm 100% sure it's not Norton. As I wrote previously, there was exactly the same problem when Norton was not installed and I had Microsoft Security Essentials. Moreover, my problems occur also before Windows start.

    I can try with RAM, but what about GPU? You said that you considered this as a main reason.
     

Share This Page

Loading...