Windows 7 Screen auto-scrolls up on my Acer Aspire 5742G notebook

rameshiyer

I have been using my Acer Aspire 5742G notebook for over 2 years now. Recently, I noticed a peculiar and very irritating issue. Rather two of them. First, the screen auto-scrolls abruptly and randomly (in no particular program, be it MS-Word / Excel or any browser). Also, when I type anything, again in any program, the cursor jumps to the beginning of the line I am typing on.

Have got 64-bit Windows 7 & SP1 reinstalled using the recovery discs, and also took the notebook to the Acer Service Centre but since this is intermittent and happens at random, couldn't simulate the same while at the Centre for about an hour.

Would be grateful if experts / IT savvy folks can help me sort these irritating issues, as it's becoming very difficult using the notebook.

Also, have got the keyboard cleaned, and also have got latest drivers installed for the Synaptics touchpad which haven't helped. Doesn't seem to be a Windows related issue, as when I start / restart the notebook, and it shows the BIOS password screen, it shows some characters being typed out into the password field automatically. Similarly, after I use backspace and remove all characters and enter the correct one, and Windows shows the user-password screen, again some characters get typed automatically till the end of the password field. Again I have to delete them and enter the right one.

Since it happens in the BIOS I seriously doubt its a driver issue, I'm guessing your keyboard is shot. It's common for the membranes to wear out and if the keyboard has been abused in any way (drink spill anyone) it can exhibit this behaviour.

I'm seeing your keyboard is pretty darn cheap on eBay and its something you could probably replace yourself:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trk...Acer+Aspire+5742G+keyboard&_sacat=0&_from=R40