Slow Install & Boot

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Tharon, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. iaTa

    iaTa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I can gather from the Chinese forum is the hard drive needs to be on channel 0 of the SATA bus in the first position. I've checked my config and the CDRom is first on channel 0 (\Device\Ide\PciIde0Channel0) and the HD is second (\Device\Ide\PciIde1Channel0). Problem is you can't easily disconnect the CDRom in an old macbook so I can't test my theory.

    DuMbGuM can you now try upgrading to 7057 and see if it still works properly.
     
    #21 iaTa, Mar 16, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2009
  2. DuMbGuM

    DuMbGuM New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already upgraded from 7000 to 7057 and It was the exact same as a fresh install of 7057.

    I think I'll just leave it alone now until RC1 is leaked or a fix arrives for 7057.
     
  3. iaTa

    iaTa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh really? I had hoped that it would still work properly by upgrading. Hmmmm, I wonder what's causing this. Lots of people experiencing the same issue by the looks of it. Let's hope that it's fixed in the next build.
     
  4. DuMbGuM

    DuMbGuM New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah its dissapointing :frown:

    But hey, RC1 will be leaked probably just over two weeks from now, and apparently they actually finish a new build every working day so It should get fixed by then ! *crosses fingers*
     
  5. iaTa

    iaTa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can confirm that 7048 works perfectly here too.
     
  6. Tharon

    Tharon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my case, I just have one (1) sata connector on the motherboard, so I'm not able to move it. God damn this irritates me.
    My comp is an acer aspire L5100. Wich is a small form factor desktop computer.
    I bought it to give me a silent livingroom. It only gives me headaches at the moment. Hopefully there will be a fix for it.
     
  7. rj3005

    rj3005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The solution doesn´t help for 7057 on a eee pc with sata ssd as you can´t move it to another channel. Maybe somebody can find out which files from 7048 could be copied to 7057 to get it work. (I don´t care about the slow install, but it also boots up extrememly slow)
     
  8. saleno

    saleno New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0


    ohhhhhhh...

    ACER ASPIRE L5100 seems using amd chipset, it seems the solution doesn'twork well on chipset not intel. hi, i suggest you go to the bios and see if the harddisk is master or not,if it is slave,try to make it master

    or see the hd info in bios---master\slave, works under which state, sata compatible or sata enhanced or ahci,then try to figure it out
     
  9. buddy666

    buddy666 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    To all that have this problem on PC, change your SATA HDD to SATA2_0 port and it will work like charm. Cheers
     
  10. Tharon

    Tharon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well. as i said earlier, i do only have one sata-connector on my motherboard.
    So I will not be able to change.
    I'll wait untill the njext build arrives. Most likely in a week or two.
     
  11. DuMbGuM

    DuMbGuM New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    #31 DuMbGuM, Mar 16, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2009
  12. Skuttles

    Skuttles New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did what some of you suggested and I moved my windows7 drive to the first slot, then I ran a startup repair from the CD and it seems to have fixed this problem. Booting up a lot quicker now.

    Thanks for the advice.
     
  13. DuMbGuM

    DuMbGuM New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good news man, at least we know thats definatly the problem now.
     
  14. seven2099

    seven2099 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you guys so much!!! you fixed my slow install/boot up for this build of win 7. Plugging into the SATA1 slot did the trick for me. Hopefully this wont be a problem in the future for everyone out there who has only one sata slow or doesnt know how to change their settings in BIOS.

    Thanks again!!!! :D
     
  15. kassy_ok

    kassy_ok New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    fix for the people using laptops or cannot change sata ports:
    right click My Computer -> Properties -> Device Manager -> Disk drives -> Right Click on your hard drive -> Properties -> Policies Tab -> UNCHECK "Enable write caching on the device". Restart and see the magic :)

    Edit: You can UNCHECK the first box or CHECK both of them, whatever suites you better. In my opinion checking both of them seems to boot up a little faster.
     
    #35 kassy_ok, Mar 26, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2009
  16. Tharon

    Tharon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a million for the tip. Might try it tomorrow.
    I'm waiting for a newer buld since the 7057 build have problems with networking.
    But I might try it on a test-machine:)
     
  17. DuMbGuM

    DuMbGuM New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good news all, I'm installing Build 7068 at the moment and its going a lot faster than the 7057 install, will report back !

    Yup, SATA problem fixed, another fast, stable beta.
     
    #37 DuMbGuM, Mar 28, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2009
  18. Tharon

    Tharon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just installed 7068 x86. It's fast, it's sweet and it works like a charm:)
    Now I just have to wait for build7.0.7100
    The new one with a new core......
     
  19. iaTa

    iaTa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great news chaps :)

    Build 7100 with new core??
     
  20. Tharon

    Tharon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. A friend of mine who is working in Microsoft told me that there will be a build with a new core. They are apparantly leaving the Vista core and using a new one. But let's not get to exited. We all know that Microsoft is like the weather. Always changing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...