Suddenly can't install anything.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by 2128, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. ksnyde

    ksnyde New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes this worked for me as well. Bizzarre. Does anyone know what this registry setting is actually doing? BTW, for the person who claimed that their laptop was working fine a few posts ago ... it sounds like a 32-bit install you're running and I think (can anyone confirm?) that this problem is isolated to 64-bit installs.
     
  2. njek

    njek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Confirmed this fix worked for me too :)

    No, the problem is not isolated to 64-bit installs...I was affected on all 3 of my 32-bit installs
     
    #42 njek, Jan 19, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
  3. swatsor

    swatsor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    OH MY GOD I LOVE YOU. That's amazing! Works like a charm for me too now! Now I get to play all of my games again :p
     
  4. brainjfk

    brainjfk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fix worked for me too thanks a bunch
     
  5. HP Deskjet

    HP Deskjet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    This happened to me yesterday. To solve this I did a roll-back using System Recovery in W7 64=bit and all's well again. Windows Installer is working again and so is access to Windows Update, which had also started to act up. On trying to open Windows Update, Windows Explorer started to crash every time. Try using system recovery and roll-back to a install that brings back Windows Installer.
     
  6. schaefjr

    schaefjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is that registry hive installed with the windows live suite?
     
  7. ihav0frnds

    ihav0frnds New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    no and no EOM
     
  8. T3chDad

    T3chDad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked for me as well. Thanks for the fix.
     
  9. GreyBat

    GreyBat Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think my new post about Adobe Reader uninstall crashing is related to this. I also cannot install .msi files, cannot start Windows Update.

    In response to S11Tech, I don't believe I have any or the suggested hardware elements in common except an Intel 6600 CoreDuo processor. Also not using AVG.
     
  10. S11Tech

    S11Tech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    It also sorted out my problem when writing a mp3 to an audio cd using win media player (automatic conversion), media player would cause explorer to crash and that was that. . Haven't bothered with nero yet
     
  11. Haydn

    Haydn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great - this worked for me. I'm back to testing again
     
  12. ihav0frnds

    ihav0frnds New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    the problem's back for me, and the registry entry is still underscored...
     
  13. S11Tech

    S11Tech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    And did you do the rest..................?


    1. Delete the string values (Except for (Default)) in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\SQMClient\Windows\DisabledSessions
    2. Start gpedit.msc
    3. Expand Computer Configuration, expand Administrative Templates, expand System, expand Internet Communication Management, and then click Internet Communication settings.
    4. In the details pane, double-click Turn off Windows Customer Experience Improvement Program, and then click Enabled.
    Yes, doing the above WILL disable the anonymous usage data (CEIP), but until Microsoft fixes the issue and issues a hotfix or a new build I don’t see any other options to ensure the issue does not occur again.
     
    Mike and (deleted member) like this.
  14. Kalkitos

    Kalkitos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did this way, hope that it's permanently solved.

    Thanks for the feedback for this problem!

    :D
     
  15. wpurcell

    wpurcell New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks butler360! Fixed the same problem on my rig.
     
  16. SUBconscious

    SUBconscious New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers m8! Was allmost going to install Vista again!
     
  17. jimbo45

    jimbo45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    41
    Usually the Simplest solutions are the cause. W7 needs a certain partition size to operate in. If your hard disk 'C' partition is getting nearly full then you'll get these sort of problems. Unless you've changed the default parameters don't forget in addition to the OS and data you might have on the C drive another 4GB or so will probably be used for system paging.

    When you do a Windows update all the old stuff is "archived" so for large updates you could be using a LOT of hard disk space you don't know about. If there isn't enough it'll crash.

    I'm not saying this is your problem but it's worth a look. I believe Microsoft recommends a minimum 24 GB for Windows 7.

    I've installed Windows 7 on at least 5 machines now without any major problems - and been able to install most applications (except those which have known incompatability).

    Cheers

    Jimbo
     
    #57 jimbo45, Jan 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
  18. GreyBat

    GreyBat Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a simpler fix to the problem, published by MS, that should appear automatically in the Action Center messages if you have reported the problem to MS. If not, here it is.....

    Solve a problem with Windows 7 beta
    An issue with the Customer Experience Improvement Program (CEIP) client in Windows 7 beta is causing Explorer and some MSI-based installers to stop working properly.
    To solve this problem, follow these steps:

    1. Click the Start button [​IMG], click All Programs, and then click Accessories.
    2. Right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator. [​IMG] In the User Account Control window, verify that Program name is Windows Command Processor, and then click Yes.
    3. In the Administrator: Command Prompt window, type or paste the following text at the prompt:
      reg delete HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SQMClient\Windows\DisabledSessions /va /f
    4. Press Enter to install the solution.
    5. If The operation completed successfully displays, close the Administrator: Command Prompt window to complete this procedure. If "ERROR: Access is denied" displays, repeat this procedure from the top, making sure you clicked Run as administrator in step two.
    I can't verify that it works, because I used the fix from this thread before the above was released. But I assume it does because it looks like it achieves the same thing with a single command.
     
  19. webmaster777

    webmaster777 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well basically, this is just about the same fix in the registry everyone has read about in this topic. I followed these actions AFTER I already did the registry rename which had the same effect, so I think the solve of microsoft is just the same as the registry key rename (which fixes the problem also).
     
  20. nana_subways

    nana_subways New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    when i try to use regedit, the UAC pops up, asking me if i want to allow the program to makes changes to my computer.
    i click yes and then all i can see is the language bar, so windows doesn't do anything, after a while of waiting, the bar closes and i go back to my desktop, it doesn't open regedit (and i tried this, it doesn't open any program using UAC)

    what do i do?
     

Share This Page

Loading...