Toshiba 3TB Partitioned As All MBR?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by BigAlC, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. BigAlC

    BigAlC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys,

    Windows 7 Pro SP1 64-Bit with an ASRock P67 PRO3 (B3) MoBo

    that has a UEFI BIOS, i5-2500K and Corsair Vengeance 16 Gigs.


    My C, D and E partitions are on a 120 GB NTFS SSD with a MBR.

    My present STORAGE HDD is a 2TB Toshiba with a MBR.


    I recently purchased a Toshiba PH3300U-1I72 3TB to replace the 2TB.


    I always Ghost with DOS Bootable CDs I make with custom

    Autoexec.bat files I write, never Windows.

    I found out from Symantec that Ghost has issues with GPT.


    I found a way to make my 3TB FULLY accessible and set as MBR.

    It's Acronis True Image, aka Seagates DiskWizard aka WD's version

    of DiskWizard. It puts an "Extended Capacity Manager" in the boot

    sector so you get one 2.1TB and one 700+GB partition, BOTH MBR.

    See: Seagate DiscWizard CloneDisc for drives larger than 3TB_Part-2




    The reason that I'm posting this is to get feedback from anyone who

    has used these programs to see if the 3TBers work as any other HDD

    would or are there any quirks that have come up since partitioning

    your 3TB?

    Please post to me.

    Thanks in advance for your help.

    Big Al
     
    #1 BigAlC, Dec 20, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2013
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If I am reading the below reference correctly, Windows 7 only does the 512 emulation. In order to use the actual 4k, you need Windows 8.

    I don't use Norton Ghost so I can't comment, but it seems that would have been updated to work with GPT drives.

    I have been thinking about getting an Advanced Format drive to test since I have seen some 2 TB ones for sale. I suspect some OEM systems already have some even smaller.

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/hh848035%28v=vs.85%29.aspx
     
  3. BigAlC

    BigAlC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's NOT the Advanced Format per-se, it's the Advanced Format OVER 2TB's.

    Re-read my post I updated it heavely. If you do get a 3TB Advanced Format

    please let me know what happens.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I am not sure your additional comments will alter mine, but I will check the drive model?

    Your attachment showed the drive was using 512e, which is a Windows 7 limitation. You might try it in Windows 8 to see if it would show the 4096 option. I think you can still download the 8.1 preview if you had another drive you could load it on, but not sure since it will expire around the middle of Jan.

    I may not understand it correctly, but I believe the larger drives (>2.2 TB) were the first ones using the 4Kn format. But now smaller ones are doing the same. Possibly a consumer restriction since some software might treat them differently and I believe Windows 7 was having problems with some of them when used as external drives.

    I won't be getting the drive for a while and I won't get any that large. I might get the 2 TB WD 2003FZEX.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822236624&Tpk=22-236-624

    Edit: Have you also seen this?

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/982018
     
    #4 Saltgrass, Dec 22, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2013
  5. BigAlC

    BigAlC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys,

    I just found this and would like some input before opening the

    Toshiba 3TB's box:

    Make SURE the 3TB is EMPTY as this will wipe ALL data on the drive

    To make a fully accessible 3TB with 4k sector:


    1. Boot to desktop.

    2. Open "My Computer" in Windows Explorer.

    3. Click on the EMPTY 3TB HDD.

    4. If the factory made some partitions on it, delete them all.

    5. Once it is just one disk, right-click it and click "Format"

    6. Select "4096", "NTFS" and "Format".

    7. Click OK. Since the 3TB is EMPTY, it should be real quick.

    8. It's now ready to be partitioned to your liking up to 2.7 or so

    TB's total and is set as MBR.

    So, has anyone used these programs or the "4096", "NTFS" and "Format"

    method?

    Big Al
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I supose it wouldn't hurt to try, if it doesn't look right you don't have to worry about loosing any data. Do you have the KB installed on your system referenced earlier?

    Let us know if it ends up showing 4096 for both physical and logical sector sizes...
     
  7. BigAlC

    BigAlC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, my present 2TB Toshiba (PH3200U-1I72) is

    Advanced Format and I used the inclued factory

    software to "Align" it.

    These are screens of my existing 2TB:

    ZZZ-POSSIBLE Fix. BPS 512 BPPS + Cluster 4096.

    So the "4096", "NTFS" and "Format" that will

    (hopefully) be done to the 3TB has been serving

    my original Hitachi 1TB and Toshiba 2TB quite

    well for over 2 years without any hiccups.
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I have been doing some more checking. I think we can agree the term Advanced Format is meant for a drive with sectors larger than 512. So a 512e and native 4k drives are both advanced format.

    One of the questions of which I was not certain, can a 512e drive be changed to be a native 4k drive, and it appears the answer is no. I have two advanced format (512e) drives and tried formatting one (using Windows 8.1) as 4096, but it still shows 512/4096 in the listing to check. It appears the emulation is in the Drive Controller and unless you possibly have a jumper to change that, it is locked at 512e.....

    I suppose the bottom line is if I was expecting to be able to run a 3 TB drive as MBR and access the entire space, I would be disappointed. But again, the information I seem to be able to pick up may be outdated or in some cases incorrect.

    I would not run a drive with the modifier to allow the full use. But I might work fine for you. I still am unsure why Ghost would have a problem with a 512e drive. It might have with a 4Kn drive, but I have seen no indication you have one of those.
     
  9. BigAlC

    BigAlC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not the 512e per-se... from my OP: I found out from Symantec that Ghost has issues with GPT. From what I've read at

    Symantec, Ghost has issues with GPT on ANY size drive. If a HDD is set GPT, Ghost has a hissy-fit!
     
  10. BigAlC

    BigAlC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to say that I've heard from numerous people with 3+ TB's

    and they have grave reservations about Acronis/Seagate/WD's

    Extended Capacity Manager to get full MBR 3TB HDD's and they

    say that the "4096", "NTFS" and "Format" won't work.


    Well, I HATE to admit defeat, but since I CANNOT find the

    Ghost v11.5.1.2298 from GSS 2.5.1 that DOES see GPT HDD's,

    I've concluded that my only recourse is to relegate my 3TB to

    GPT and to BACKUP status to my 2TB Toshiba and dusted-off 1TB

    Hitachi MBR HDD's that I'll be using as my main drives.


    After numerous E-Mails to a bunch of Cloning Software companies,

    I've settled on MiniTool Partition Wizard v8.1.1 from

    http://www.partitionwizard.com (To top it off, it's FREE!!!)

    to pre-partition my 3TBer and to do the "Copy partitions from

    my 1 and 2TB MBR's to partitions on my 3TB GPT" and use my

    Ghost v11.5.1.2269's Make and Restore Bootable CD's to do my

    MBR C and D Drive imaging chores.

    It's been fun--NOT!
     

Share This Page

Loading...