UK Student Download Version?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by rendez2k, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. tanjimh

    tanjimh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for you reply.

    I some forums people are advising to do a clean install, not to enter product key when prompted and continue to desktop.

    Then reboot PC, and do a custom reinstall of windows 7 into a different drive and enter the product key when promted while reinstalling.

    I was getting very confused.
     
  2. sanctimon

    sanctimon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would just like to say thank you to SIW2 for the assistance. I started downloading the files yesterday and had a bootable DVD within an hour or so (not sure what you mean by the etfsboot.com not conforming to the ISO standard though).

    I then went on and performed a custom, that is to say, clean installation over my old Windows 7 Ultimate RC installation. Then, EasyTransfer and my old system was back.
     
  3. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    Click on his name and give him some rep points. Then others know he had reliable information (sometimes :rolleyes: ) haha
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi tb ,

    Yes, only sometimes. LOL
     
  5. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    At least we aren't like Homer Simpson.... he said to Bart "We tried and failed and learned a vaulable lesson.... NEVER try again" haha

    We try and fail and try again and again and sometimes mess more than we fix... but we learn a little now and then.

    If we worked for Microsoft we would probably just tell eveyone who calls with a problem.... "You need a new computer"
     
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Frequently on my own machine:)
     
  7. Offwhite

    Offwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Upgrading Win Xp 32 to Win 7 pro on a Mac Pro

    Hi, Sorry for possible repeating the same problem but I just cannot seem to get Win 7 to crete a ISO. I have followed the instruction i.e downloading the oscdimg.exe and placing it in system32. I've changed the code to work with where I have placed the expandedSetup folder but yet no joy.

    I would appreciate any help

    Thanks
     
  8. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    I couldn't get it to work either.


    You can Google unetbootin and use it to make a bootable usb... or look at my 3rd from last blog, it has the links for the full downloads from Microsoft... they are bootable iso's
     
  9. Offwhite

    Offwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help tblount. Sorry for being stupid but where is your 3rd from last blog?

    Thanks again
     
  10. Offwhite

    Offwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually just found your blog entries. The problem is I can't make the ISO in the first place! But I will definitely create a bootable USB.

    Thanks again
     
  11. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    My tag line on every message I enter has this:
    For more fixes, tips and tweaks, visit my blog here:
    http://windows7forums.com/blogs/tblount
     
  12. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi Offwhite,

    If you are finding the ocdimg commands tricky - try this it is very easy:

    Make Bootable Iso Easily





     
  13. Offwhite

    Offwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone for their help. I've finally got it running smoothly. The final issue I had was that intel macs don't use BIOS so I had to use the startup command on the mac partition and choose the bootable DVD.

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page

Loading...