UK Student Download Version?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by rendez2k, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    That's because you haven't got file extensions showing. Go to Folder Options and make sure they are.

    It's a good idea to always have file extensions showing - not least so you know the kind of files you are dealing with.

    If you are on Vista /7, type Folder Options in start search , press enter, click the View tab, untick the box that says Hide extenxions of known filetypes , Apply, ok.
     
    #21 SIW2, Oct 22, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2009
  2. bder215

    bder215 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok did that, and I still get the same error saying that filename does not exist. Should I reboot/?
     
  3. jamezracer

    jamezracer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been getting similar errors, after adding quotes got this error message:

    C:\Windows\system32>Oscdimg.exe -u2 -b"C:\Users\Jamez\Desktop\expandedSetup\boot
    \etfsboot.com" -h "C:\Users\Jamez\Desktop\expandedSetup" C:\WIN7.ISO
    OSCDIMG 2.54 CD-ROM and DVD-ROM Premastering Utility
    Copyright (C) Microsoft, 1993-2007. All rights reserved.
    Licensed only for producing Microsoft authorized content.

    ERROR: Could not delete existing file "ûbC:\Users\Jamez\Desktop\expandedSetup\bo
    ot\etfsboot.com"
    Error 123: The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.
    C:\Windows\system32>

    û should not be there, so i figured there was an error in the process of copying text. so i just typed the whole thing out by hand and it worked perfectly, give that a go.
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Glad it worked for you.
     
  5. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    What filename doesn't exist?

    expandedSetup/boot should be expandedSetup\boot
     
  6. AkoCham

    AkoCham New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK so I tried doing this with similar syntax but I seem to have a problem.

    My windows 7 extendedSetup file is in my D:\ drive and I can't put it on C:\ because I do not have enough space to do so. Is there any way at all to alter that command to redirect it to where it is saved on my D:\ drive?????
     
  7. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Yes of course.

    Press shift and rt click the expandedsetup folder - select copy as path - post the path here.

    I will post the command back for you.
     
  8. AkoCham

    AkoCham New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    D:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\Downloads\Windows 7\expandedSetup
     
  9. bder215

    bder215 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it, Thanks a bunch SIW2
     
  10. William Hawley

    William Hawley New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi SIW

    I has the same problem. I've downloaded the Oscdimg, unzipped it, and put it in system 2.

    Then went to command and put in

    Oscdimg.exe -u2 -b"C:\Users\William\Desktop\expandedSetup\boot\etfsboot.com" -h "C:\Users\William\Desktop\expandedSetup" C:\WIN7.ISO

    I then get a error message Window saying - C:\Users\William\Oscdimg.exe is not a valid win32 application

    Any ideas?

    William
     
  11. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Couldn't you have made it any longer ? LOL

    That's not a good place. Copy or move the entire expandedsetup folder onto the root of D:

    So you have this path:

    D:\expandedSetup

    How much free space do you have on C and D?
     
  12. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    small o for oscdimg.exe
     
  13. William Hawley

    William Hawley New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put in the command with a small "o", but exactly the same error message appears.
     
  14. AkoCham

    AkoCham New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha yeah my path names do get a little ridiculous but I can remember them.

    I have 2.91 GB free on C:\ and 303 GB free on D:\. I should also note that D:\ is a slave drive to C:\ if that makes a difference.

    And I copied the files to D:\ so the path name is now D:\expandedSetup
     
  15. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    William,

    I was kidding - capitals make no diff in command prompt.

    Go find oscdimg.exe in System 32 - make sure it's there.
     
    #35 SIW2, Oct 22, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2009
  16. AkoCham

    AkoCham New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put in the command: oscdimg.exe -u2 -bC:\etfsboot.com -h D:\expandedSetup D:\WIN7.ISO

    to give it a stab and experiement and it is currently copying something which is 80% complete. Did I put it in right?

    I should also note that I copied the etfsboot.com file into the C:\ which would explain the C:\ part of the command.
     
  17. William Hawley

    William Hawley New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yip, it is defiantly there.
    Can print screen if you want.
     
  18. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Ako,

    Oscdimg.exe –u2 –bD:\expandedSetup\boot\etfsboot.com –h D:\expandedSetup D:\WIN7.ISO

    Nice easy one.

    Can you make a bit more space on C before you start - for the temp file - clear some restore points - run diskcleanup - or move a gig or two over to a folder on D somewhere.
     
  19. AkoCham

    AkoCham New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0

    Cool I think that would give me the same results as my command which is nice. Thanks so much!

    I plan on partitioning my hard drive on the Windows 7 install to give ALOT more space to C:\ when I install. Is this a good idea?

    Also, to make this a bootable dvd I just have to run MagicISO at this point correct?
     
  20. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    When you have the .iso - burn as an image with any isoburner.

    Up to you how you partition . I have all my o/s on small partitions - 30gb or so. I keep data on a different partition.

    Everyone does it differently.
     

Share This Page

Loading...