Windows 7 Background Too Big For Monitor

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Todd Elving, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. Todd Elving

    Todd Elving New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have adjusted the resolution to the highest possible rate.
    The icons are off to the size and the sidebar is barely visible.
    Even the experts have no idea how to fix this, so I place this problem before you, how and the heck do i get everything to fit on the screen? And no its not the resolution.
    Thank you wise ones!
     
  2. Fixer1234

    Fixer1234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    37
    Go to the screen resolution settings window. You should see an option: Make text and other items larger or smaller. See if that is set at 100%.
     
  3. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Why did you do that ?
    Your Windows 7 has a recommended native resolution setting. You should stick with that setting.

    3 suggestions :
    1. Reset your resolution based on the table shown on this tutorial :
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/255-screen-resolution-display-settings.html
    Make sure you check with the resolution table based on your monitor screen size.

    2. Reset your DPI
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/443-dpi-display-size-settings-change.html

    3. Do a system restore. Pick a date BEFORE you adjusted the resolution as your restore point.
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/using-windows-vista-system-restore/
     
  4. Fixer1234

    Fixer1234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    37
    The "highest possible" resolution is the "recommended/native" resolution. In the days of CRTs, you occasionally saw video drivers that could use tricks to display resolutions higher than the native resolution (but the results were generally awful). I haven't seen anyone figure out how to do that with LCD or LED displays, but doing so would still fit everything on the screen. The only way to select a resolution that doesn't fit on the display would be to manually override the monitor selection and make the computer think a higher resolution monitor was being used.

    Some drivers will let you create a "virtual" display where the monitor acts like a window on a larger display. What you see is still the native resolution and you scroll to look at other portions of the image. You still must set the monitor resolution; the size of the virtual display is another setting. If the DPI setting is already 100%, check to see if a virtual display has been defined.

    The "DPI" setting affects how the available resolution is used. The pixels are fixed, so if you devote more of them to each item or character, they don't go as far and the available pixels won't be enough to fit the entire image.
     
    #4 Fixer1234, Apr 1, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014
  5. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Todd Elving,
    Please post back after you have tried my suggestions.
    Thank you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...