Windows 7 Beta - Internet Connection

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by ljcap, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. ljcap

    ljcap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Having a problem with the new Windows 7 beta (32 bit) and internet/network connection.

    Windows 7 beta successfully installed (upgrade, not clean install).
    Toshiba Satellite Laptop A200
    Dynalink RTA1046VW Wireless Router

    I'm hoping the problem is just something very simple that I have overlooked. Windows 7 recognizes the wireless router and also sees the connection (home network). However, I can not seem to connect to anything.

    With Internet Explorer - Connecting (but doesn't seem to do anything)
    With Mozilla Thunderbird - Loading message (green bar scrolls but doesn't do anything)

    The bar down the bottom right say's I am connected with Local and Internet Access.

    Have I missed something very simple?

    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers
    Laurie
     
  2. ljcap

    ljcap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    In addition to what I have written;

    I am using Zone Alarm AntiVirus software
    I have also noticed that when I connect my iPhone 3G to the laptop nothing happens.

    Cheers
    Laurie
     
  3. RandysSOHC

    RandysSOHC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^connecting an APPLE Iphone to a windows PC?

    no doubt I would consider a driver to be *required.
    especially with a beta version....
     
  4. bmaphis

    bmaphis Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever figure anything out with this? I have the same problem and have had no luck! Frustrating.
     
  5. ljcap

    ljcap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no luck. I understand that once I get the internet connection it will be able to install most drivers (ie. iPhone, printers, etc). I should re-word it as I do get internet connection but just can't seem to open anything in IE8 or Thunderbird, or anything else that connects to the internet. In other words, I have all the drivers installed to connect but just doesn't seem to want to connect at the last hurdle.

    Windows 7 'Help' doesn't know what is wrong either. I had a connection during the install but lost it once Windows 7 was installed.

    Will be very grateful if someone figures this out.

    Cheers
    Laurie
     
  6. bmaphis

    bmaphis Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exact symptoms I have. I'll keep working on it.
     
  7. bmaphis

    bmaphis Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you on fios by chance?
     
  8. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    ZoneAlarm is known for causing more harm than it does good when it comes to computers. I would try and disable the antivirus and see if that fixes the problem. If not then disable whatever firewall you use.
     
  9. bmaphis

    bmaphis Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have ZoneAlarm FW & AV. I had been disabling the ZA client as a first step after booting each time. However, it appears that I needed to just uninstall. The "True Vector" Service that's part of ZA appears to be the culprit. After uninstalling, both my local ethernet adapter and wireless adapter get me to the internet. All is ok for the moment, just need the 5 hours of troubleshooting back. Hope that helps, Ben
     
  10. stuigi

    stuigi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Zone alarm is definately the culprit. I've read that ZA 7.0.470 will work though I haven't tried it yet
     
  11. axesd

    axesd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exact problem here..
    I got connected for a day,then it wouldnt connect,even though it said im connected to internet.

    but I played CS and it connects to the server and was able to play with people online,so kinda strange here. Hoping there will be solution out soon.!!
     
  12. ljcap

    ljcap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    That did the trick, took ZA off the computer and it logged in straight away. Now to work on my other computer which I did a fresh install on. Hopefully, this one is just a driver problem.

    Thanks for all your help guys.

    Edit: Everything is now working fine except that it doesn't see the iPhone 3G. I hear a sound when I plug it in but nothing else.

    I have done a clean install on one of my desktop computers (Acer Aspire M1610) and it doesn't recognise the Ethernet Controller. Have tried locating it on the Acer website and others with no luck, this one has me stumped.

    Cheers
    Laurie

    iPhone now working, helps when you look at the Device Manager and uninstall the driver and reboot.

    Still no luck with the desktop computer. Just can't find the correct driver for the ethernet controller.

    Cheers
    Laurie
     
    #12 ljcap, Jan 12, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  13. malayvaghela

    malayvaghela New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    internet connectivity issue

    hi,
    i have installed succesfully windows 7 beta version.
    even in device manager it shows that the wireless network drivers are ok and still i am not able to connect to internet with my wirelss card nor through the wired ethernet cable also.
    if any one has any answer to it let me know.
    thanks..
     
  14. axesd

    axesd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exact problem, I am just hoping there is some solution for us soon.
     
  15. ljcap

    ljcap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem and after uninstalling ZoneAlarm AntiVirus Software and rebooting all was fixed. It's a possibility that your AntiVirus software is stopping you from connecting to the internet.

    I have now installed Kaspersky AntiVirus 8.0 Technical Review for Windows 7 (free) in place of ZoneAlarm.

    Let me know how you go?

    Cheers
    Laurie
     
  16. axesd

    axesd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, After i first installed beta7, I could go on to internet with no problem whatsever,but then after a day or two, I dont know what I had installed that had this problem. I installed ESET Business edition. Maybe the anti virus ? I am not sure. but after I saw this post, I went uninstalled the ESET and disable the firewall,but no luck.so I hope to hear more opinions.!
     
  17. ljcap

    ljcap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    One option might be to do a System Restore back to the point just after you installed Windows 7 beta. Then re-install the software you have loaded and keep checking to see if you have an internet connection after each install. I would be quite certain that one of the programs that you have installed is causing the problem.

    Cheers
    Laurie
     
  18. axesd

    axesd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    But the worse is that the last restore point is just RIGHT AFTER I installed the ESET,I think its a little late?? to do system restore?
     
  19. ljcap

    ljcap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bummer.....

    I'm afraid I don't have any other ideas. I know when I finally got my intrenet connection, Microsoft recommended 3 different AntiVirus programs, Kaspersky, Nortons and Avast (I think). I chose Kaspersky as it was free for Windows 7. There's a bit of talk at the moment with regards to antivirus software and Windows 7 if you do a Google search.

    I'm still struggling with my desktop computer in which I did a clean install. It won't connect to the computer as it can't find my ethernet controller. I've emailed Acer but haven't had a reply with regards to the name of the controller. I'm thinking of reinstalling Windows 7 again to see if that might help.

    Did you do a clean install or an upgrade?

    Cheers
    Laurie
     
  20. axesd

    axesd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    See,I had the idea to reinstall windows 7 again.but then when I tried to install Daemon tool, It just kept on telling me to restarrt my computer and i can never end the installing progress. I dont know what to do,and i might just backup my files on external hard drive and install XP or back to vista instead.
     

Share This Page

Loading...