Windows 7 Windows 7 cannot "see" Win XP on home network.

wimpy

I have a small home network of 2 XPs and some linux PCs. One of the XP PCs ( XP1, say ) has a printer. This printer is shared on the network and works OK. I've recently added a Windows 7 PC and made it use the same Workgroup as the others for networking purposes. All the Windows PCs can ping one another by name. I've even managed to get the networked printer added to the Win 7 PC, and that works as well. However, the win 7 PC can "see" the other XP in the network map and access shared folders on that machine, but not XP1.. It seems impossible that the printer shows up with XP1's name in the CP printer section but does not show up on the CP network map.
I would be grateful for any help or suggestions.

Hi and welcome to the forum:

Well home networking can be tricky--I've been doing it for 35 years. The most common 2 problems causing this sort of problem are:
1.) You added the Windows7 pc to an existing XP network without establishing the Homegroup in Win7 first. Best thing to do to fix this, is to "rip" out all of your networking references on all the XP PCs, disconnect all the Linux PCs when you do this, and remove and reinstall your Win7 PC Homegroup. Make sure your write down or print out the new Homegroup password. Then reconnect all the XP PCs to the Win7 PC on the network using a disk or USB drive with the Homegroup creation files on them 1 at a time. Once working all shares in both directions, then add the Linux PCs back 1 at a time into the network. If your Win7 or XP PCs stop working on 1 or more shares, that Linux PC has a problem you'll have to troubleshoot separately. Once fixed, repeate the fix on all connected Linux PCs.