Winload.exe problem no cd drive

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by kratosX7, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. kratosX7

    kratosX7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today I wanted to return my notebook to the factory settings using Dell Datasafe but after the reboot I got this winload.exe error. Because of this I cant recover my notebook.
    How can I fix this?

    Thanks!
    Kratos
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello and welcome to the Windows7forums,

    Do you have an actual purchased copy of Windows 7?

    or does it reside on a a recovery partition on your hard drive?

    Did you make DVD backups when you first received the computer.

    Is the computer under warranty?
     
  3. kratosX7

    kratosX7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!
    Yes I have an actual copy of windows 7 but I don't have it it's at home and yes I have 1 year warranty but I thought maybe I can do something or download something so the problem will be fixed?

    Yours,
    Kratos
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I don't know what Dell DataSafe is, but my laptop came with the recovery partiton. You can use an F key during boot to get to the recovery utility. I do not remember which F key, maybe F8. This will put your machine back to the factory install, if you have this system.

    Check your owner's manual or the Dell Site.
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello Kratos,

    I would make one toll-free phone call to tech support. Maybe it's something they've run across in the past.

    When you realize the person doesn't know how to operate a computer, say Thank you and hang up.

    Then come here for a real solution.

    Was Windows 7 pre-installed on the PC?

    Maybe a good cleaning of the DVD with a very soft cloth would help.

    Feel free to post back.
     
  6. kratosX7

    kratosX7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. Yes it was preinstalled. It came with a CD but that aint very useful cuz I have no CD Drive.

    Dell Datasafe is a recovery program that let me recover my laptop back to the factory settings.

    I've used it once and it worked fine and now I want to use it again but I can't cuz of winload.exe

    Delldatasafe is the only recovery I have (At least what I am aware of)

    Is there ANYTHING I can download to fix this problem? I need something like a Boot Fix.
     
    #6 kratosX7, Sep 2, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Could you tell me what problems you are having that make you want to restore the hard drive again?
     
  8. kratosX7

    kratosX7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well one of them is that when I start up my computer it tells me that it needs to check the hard drive, I can cancel it within 9 seconds by pressing any button but if I don't it just does nothing. No checking at all. I just want a computer without errors :p
     
  9. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
  10. kratosX7

    kratosX7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I need to typ this in at run->cmd? Cuz when I typ it in there I get access denied. What to do?

    I dont have any backup. I dont need a backup btw :p

    EDIT: Ok i got chkdsk /r /f but he can't run the proces cuz it is already in use and ask me if it I want it to restart the computer and check it but when I restart my computer and checks the hard disk it goes into tilt and does nothing...
     
    #10 kratosX7, Sep 3, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2010
  11. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    If chkdsk isn't working it's the problem then. Your system files may be corrupted, you can check them with sfc /scannow. Have you tried fixing the winload.exe error with these commands typed in the commands prompt window:

    bootrec.exe /fixmbr
    bootrec.exe /fixboot

     
  12. kratosX7

    kratosX7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did run scannow and it told me some files were damaged and recovered but it didnt fixed the winload.exe error. When I try bootrec.exe in cmd it says it doesn't recognize it as a file.

    Is there a solution if I have a cd drive put it in and run it via another computer using my internal network?
     
  13. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
  14. kratosX7

    kratosX7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    But can I just run it from my computer? Since I dont have a cd drive and need to use one from my other computer using my network
     
  15. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Cab you get into Windows at all at this point?
     
  16. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    What computer do you have?
     

Share This Page

Loading...