8.1 network connection issues.

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by SimplyOreo, Jul 1, 2015.

  1. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    As you can see from the title, I am having issues with constant lag spikes about every ten seconds that last for about 2-5 seconds. I have an Asus laptop with Windows 8.1 and has never had this issue before. This appears to be the only device that is lagging on my network, plus I have the only wireless Windows 8.1 laptop on my network so I am not exactly sure if it is an issue with 8.1 or not. The lag started right after I came back from vacation and I don't know why it just started. It seems to be working fine on different networks such as my friends house but it just won't stop the lag on my home network. It has full bars and I don't think it is a distance issue as my tablet works fine in my room where my computer is. If any of you could help that would be great..
     
  2. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    An addition is that it is not framerate or fps lag because when I am playing Minecraft the players just stop and then go again and not fps lag because it isn't slow like it will let me move unlike fps lag.
     
  3. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    Reboot your router, update your wireless drivers to the latest for your specific wireless chipset, update the firmware for your wireless router. If none of that helps, start scanning for malware.
     
  4. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do I do all that? I am not very good at computer things..
     
  5. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    312
    Power-cycle your router = turn it off at the power (wait two minutes) then turn it back on again… this resets such things as dhcp and dns which sometimes fixes these kind of indeterminate issues.

    Updates = both software and firmware are downloaded from the makers web-site and the steps depend on what make and model router you have.

    The fact that your network works fine at a mates house implies the laptop itself is ok so,
    Next steps:
    1. Temporary plug your system into one of the cables on your home network instead of using it on the wireless… if the problem persists then it may in fact be your service provider and not the router itself. In this case you should ring them up… perhaps someone is putting in a new highway or something and that’s not anything you can fix from your end.
    2. If the problem only happens on your home wireless then that’s almost always the router and to be blunt, it’s normally cheaper to replace the router than try to trouble shoot it… assumes updates have been tried first.
     
  6. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    At this point, getting a new router would cost more because I have replaced my router twice already in the past two months.
     
  7. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    When you said temporary I am assuming you mean I take it out later.. When should I take it out?
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    The title of your thread suggests a "connection issue" but your actual comments in your original posts only speaks of "lag and frame rate" problems.
    This might be more of a problem with how you have your wireless network configure, with respect to encryption, the channel you're using, or possibly some environment issues with other devices causing interference with the signal.
    I would suggest that you start by changing the wireless channel on the router you're using and maybe experiment with different levels of encryption, starting first with running it "open" no encryption and advancing to WEP, WPA, WPA2, etc., and see if that makes any difference in the performance.
    Also you should probably investigate the possibility of other device interference by adjusting your proximity between your wireless computer and your wireless source (router). The fact that your tablet might work fine at or near the same location does not really help as all wireless radios are dependent on their firmware, drivers, physical capabilities and antenna(s) and consequently may be inherently stronger or weaker when compared to another such device.
    Overall, if you don't know how to do any of these things you need to find someone who does to help you further diagnose the problem.
     
  9. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was making comments about that it is not framerate lag not how it is.
     
  10. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    312
    Why... is there an issue with power at your place or is this router shuffle not related?

    2 days, 3 hours and 47 seconds should be a good test time o_O:rolleyes:... you have a better idea than us how offen this happens but if it's not kicking in under cable after 2 days, thats a good start.

    The fact is wireless has a million possible things that can wrong with it but Trouble has a good point and you have to start someplace.
     
  11. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    All the times I have had to replace the router it is because it is too old or something or not just a good router and stops working every now and then. OK I will see if I have another wire to connect to my laptop.. And to be honest I have no clue what trouble was saying so I will get help from my dad. I honestly don't think it has to do with my router because if you read it I said that it was just my device and it said that I had full bars.
     
  12. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Which channel should I change it to? I think I may know how to change it to WEP, WPA, WPA2. I think currently it is WPA and WPA2.... How do I find out what it is and what is after WPA 2?
     
    #12 SimplyOreo, Jul 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2015
  13. SimplyOreo

    SimplyOreo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    I actually went on my router this morning to test different wireless channels and security and I found out that all I need was a firmware update and now it is perfect. Thanks for helping me and I put your reply for the best answer
     

Share This Page

Loading...