Ad Hoc Internet Connection Sharing?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by istosevski, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. Archangel

    Archangel Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    4
    Understood. Yes, please try setting up the IP's manually, that might work. Perhaps you've discovered a bug that they might be able to squeeze into the next service pack.
     
  2. samalan

    samalan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    this thread has been a life saver for me and my room mates but now there seems to be a glitch
    before i could easily set up an ad hoc connection with the internet sharing option by following the steps outlines by sinnerman

    1) Open Network and Sharing Center
    2) Go to Change Adapter Settings
    3) Find the adapter for the default internet connection (it was a PPPOE in my case)
    4) Right click on that -> Cancel as Default Connection
    4) Right click -> Properties -> Sharing tab
    5) Uncheck "Allow other network users to connect ..." if it is not
    6) Setup the ad-hoc as cocaine explained in the previous post, the Turn on Internet connection sharing should appear

    now i am able to set up a wifi ad-hoc connection between the laptops (and iphone) but am unable to share the internet.

    previously i could see a "sharing" tab in the properties of my Ethernet adapter (Marvell Yukon 88E8057 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller) for ICS control which i didnt actually fidget with
    by following the instructions on this thread but now i'm stuck.

    each time i set up an ad hoc connection the wizard takes me right through on to the usual steps (password set up etc) but skips the "sharing internet connection" dialog box directly to the end informing me about sharing my public folders. this with the missing "sharing" tab makes me think there has been some screw up in the sharing options but i have no clue how to fix it.

    any help on the matter would be most appreciated!

    btw i'm on a vaio with windows 7 home basic (if that helps).

    thanks
     
  3. inteks

    inteks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all,

    i found a way to auto connect (via cmd) to adhoc networks in windows 7 :p

    * create a profile like you do for a hotspot
    * after that ->
    * start cmd. enter netsh goto wlan
    * export profile "yourcreatedprofile"
    * edit the exported profile in notepad.exe
    * replace
    * <connectionType>ESS</connectionType>
    * with
    * <connectionType>IBSS</connectionType>

    *
    * back in netsh type ->
    * add profile "yourcreatedprofile"
    * connect "yourcreatedprofile"
    * voila ;)

    now you can use the commandline to connect like in Vista

    have fun
    inteks
     
    #23 inteks, Feb 24, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2010
  4. abtranbn

    abtranbn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you don't see the button "Turn on Internet Connection Sharing", that mean the ICS is turned on before.
    To see the Button again:
    - go to the Network an Sharing Center >Manage Network Connections,
    - Right click on the Wireless Adapter chose Propertise
    - In the Sharing tab, uncheck the box "Allow other network users connect...." then Click OK.(Sometime I don't see the Sharing tab, I don't khow why , but when I Uninstall/Reinstall the Wireless driver, it appears :D)
    - Recreat new Ad-hoc and you'll the button "Turn on Internet Connection Sharing" again
     
  5. kaykhanittha

    kaykhanittha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it seems that the solution is to first UNCHECK internet connection sharing

    Yes it seems that the solution is to first UNCHECK internet connection sharing, thanks.
     
  6. huybinh254

    huybinh254 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thank U so much. It's successful
     
  7. liridonk

    liridonk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    About Ad Hoc or Virtual AP

    Hi everyone

    in my email i have atached an advanced software for sharing any internet connections to unlimited computers,
    through Wireless USB Adapters, Lan Cards 10/100 mbps or bluetooth etc...
    it's a 1 MB software and it is so easy to configure also i have keygen for this software
    anyone who need this software you can email me at liridonk@hotmail.com
    this software costs 20 euros
    i am online at GMT+1 ( Central European Time) for helping remotely to any users ;)
    you can pay me by Western Union or my Swift Code Bank
    thanks
     
  8. jbarth

    jbarth New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was the perfect answer. I was struggling with this for months. Kudos! Just make sure that you give sharing to the host computer, in my case the broadband connection. then the laptop connected perfectly. You're brilliant. Thank you.
     
  9. muxtor

    muxtor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [langtitle=ru]Re: Ad Hoc Internet Connection Sharing?[/langtitle]

    Вот я решел это проблема очень простой способом:
    Например в ноутбуки1 стоит Windows 7 и выходить интернет через 3G модемом. Ему надо сделать общие доступ для WI-FI или для LAN. модемные подключение>свойства>доступ>разрешать доступ>применить!
    Теперь подключаем другое ноутбук2 через WI-FI на этот ноутбок1. Думаю в предидущие сообщиних есть решение как подключить.
    Теперь нужин интернет на ноутбук2 через подключение WI-FI от ноутбук1.
    Надо узнать DNS address от провайдер. например MTS.RU вот здесь оттуда перезодим на на эту адрес и в этом страницы есть такое надписы:
    DNS servers
    ns.mts.ru. 194.54.148.129
    ns2.mts.ru. 194.54.148.5 (можеть узнать с один звонками на провайдер)
    вот эти ip адресы нам ОЧЕНЬ надо их надо записать для wi-fi подключиние.
    Состояние > Свойства > Протокол Интенет версие 4 (TCP/IP4)> Свойства
    напишим ip адресы в строки DNS серевер. а потом ОК и веселемся за подключении интенет на ноутбук2
    PS. это решение можно использовать для все машины и ОС.
     

    Attached Files:

    #29 muxtor, Jun 22, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2011
  10. vikrama87

    vikrama87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI,
    I have the same problem... everything works fine but in the next page im not getting "turn on internet sharing'' ....
    i went through the whole thread and googled too but couldnot find any solution...
    please somebody rectify it....:(
     
  11. muxtor

    muxtor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [langtitle=ru]Re: Ad Hoc Internet Connection Sharing?[/langtitle]

    [lang=ru][QUOTE = vikrama87; 226611] HI, у меня такая же проблема ... все работает нормально, но на следующей странице им не получить "свою очередь на интернет-обмена''.... я прошла через всю нить и Гугл тоже, но couldnot найти любое решение ... пожалуйста, кто-то ее исправить ....:([ / QUOTE]

    Именно какое проблема подробно напишите. было бы хорошо с рисунками[/lang]
     
  12. cozofdeath

    cozofdeath New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to bring this up again but I've been having the same issue for a while. To describe the problem, I have my Win7 computer sharing the internet (ICS) on its wireless adapter. I also have a WinXP computer that would like to connect to the Win7 wireless adapter, obtain an ip address, and surf the net. Every time I try to do this there are problems and it has gotten to the point of just not working. The first time I set this up Win7 did great and asked me what adapter the wireless adapter should use for its internet source. It also asked me whether I like like to enable internet sharing on the device as I setup the ad-hoc network through the wizard. I though wow this is freaking easy. So it works until the computers get shutdown and for whatever the reason the Win7 computer seems to forget its settings. So now (months later) the Win7 computer doesn't ask me anything when setting up the network as it did before. And it seems it doesn't matter if I have ICS on and enabled for that device it still doesn't send out an ip address.

    Things I have done. On the Win7 computer I setup an ad-hoc network with the proper security settings and got everything up and running OK network wise. Internet sharing is enabled in the service manager and on the device. Automatic DHCP is also enabled on this device. Is this correct?

    I have also disabled my firewall as a precautionary measure but still a no go.
     
  13. cozofdeath

    cozofdeath New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forget it. I just ended up buying a hub/switch and I'll play with that.
     
  14. CheezGrater

    CheezGrater New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This didn't work in my case, am I doing something wrong?
     
  15. Nikunj12

    Nikunj12 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: thxx

    Hello Frnds

    I M use Windows 7 Prof.
    i have NETGEARE Adapter

    How to make wireless connection using netgare adapter

    PC TO Mobile
     
  16. buythiscomputer

    buythiscomputer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: thxx

    Hi,

    I have just read the first page and Internet Connection Sharing ICS works just fine.

    Thanks.
     
  17. shadow sgma

    shadow sgma New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm having the same problems but I may have partially figured it out. when i go to the sharing tab inside the properties of my internet connection it says as the Home networking connection a different name than the one that the ad hoc connects to and i can't change it to the right one.
     
  18. shadow sgma

    shadow sgma New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, I'm not too sure as to how I did it but I'm now getting the option to allow ICS when setting up an adhoc, I'll try to explain it but its a bit vague. So I went to the network connections page and right clicked on the internet connection and chose diagnose. after the program finished checking for problems it said something about not finding the original gateway, something like that. I'm sorry I can't be more specific than that.
     
  19. rsvikash

    rsvikash New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: thxx

    Thanx mate tat worked just fine :)
     
  20. vdevnani

    vdevnani New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This fix works just fine!!
    Thanks a ton!! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...