Black Screen After System Restore

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by Alwayssnarky, May 16, 2014.

  1. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Are you getting the options in the attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Alwayssnarky

    Alwayssnarky New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    The /info said it was enabled. I tried the rebuildbcd, and it said there were no windows installations. And no, I have most, but not the one on the bottom right. Pressing f9 takes me to those options, though.
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I am going to shut down for the night. Try doing a couple of startup repairs and then shut the system completely down and try again. Make sure the bios is showing that install as the primary boot.

    If it isn't working by tomorrow, I will try removing the BCD store entries to match yours to see if I can duplicate your situation....
     
  4. Alwayssnarky

    Alwayssnarky New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright. I'm going to try to remove the hard drive, so I can either format it from another computer, or just remove enough files that it'll run the startup repair. I'll post back if it works.
    EDIT: I got the drive out, but I don't have an adapter. To clarify from earlier, here's what I would do with this plan:
    Remove the drive.
    Connect it to the laptop of someone who has 8.1 installed (it came preinstalled). One with 8 is also available if necessary, since that is what my computer shipped with.
    I would then use this connection to format the hard drive from that laptop, instead of from mine. from what I read this would completely blank the hard drive, removing everything, including the OS. (I'm not entirely sure if that would be the case, since this computer shipped to me with windows 8 already installed. A method that would restore everything, OS included to factory settings instead of destroying it outright would also work, but this is the first time I've tried to do this, and I don't know if it would work.)
    Assuming the above did not leave an OS, I would then use an image(or something, I'm not entirely clear on what I would do at this point) of the windows edition in whichever of the other computers I used to reinstall windows to my hard drive. If there is no way to use the other laptops, my college gives out free editions of Windows 7 to students, which would be an acceptable outcome at this point.
    Hopefully that clears it up, I was kind of vague earlier. Thanks!
     
    #24 Alwayssnarky, May 16, 2014
    Last edited: May 17, 2014
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I have had a setback in that when I booted my system this morning, the BCD store entry I thought was missing on your system did not show up on mine, so I have been going down the wrong road.

    If you format the entire drive, it will remove the Recovery partition with the Factory Image. You may want to keep that in case. Still not sure why your factory reset will not work, but I might be able to do some research next week on that front.

    Again, no cause of the problem is evident. If it were a video problem, booting into Safe Mode should have corrected that.

    I will be trying some other things, but will wait to see where you are after your process.

    Below is my Reagentc /info readout, which includes entries for both the Windows Recovery Tools and a Factory Restore image. You might check yours to make sure the Factory image is registered.

     
    #25 Saltgrass, May 17, 2014
    Last edited: May 17, 2014
  6. Alwayssnarky

    Alwayssnarky New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are there any methods of formatting that would keep the recovery disc and reset the OS? One of the sites I looked at mentioned a quick format that sounded like that. If not, would I be able to use their Windows editions, or would I be better downloading the free one from my school?
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You can just format the OS partition and remove any problems with it. Your situation may still involve something related to the boot system, but hard to tell. When you get the Partition missing message when you try to reset, it might be related to the OS version difference. On thing to try to get it to reset would be to format the C: partition and see if it will complete the reset. But you really can't recommend that to someone who does not have some type of backup to recover in case it does not work.

    If you have access to the install files for the same version of Windows 8 currently on your system, you may be able to just reinstall and the embedded key will allow activation. You may even be able to do a clean install of Windows 8.1 with the same version and use the general key to install and allow the embedded key to activate. This is an area in which I currently have no experience, so I can't really say what will or will not work.
     
  8. Alwayssnarky

    Alwayssnarky New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I'll look for install files and my key when I get my hard drive connected. Like I said, worst case scenario I can still access an edition of Windows.
     
  9. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,045
    Likes Received:
    300
  10. Alwayssnarky

    Alwayssnarky New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That reset worked. I have my computer back now. Thanks for the help, everyone!
     

Share This Page

Loading...