BSOD's getting very annoying.

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Badstroller, Jan 18, 2014.

  1. Badstroller

    Badstroller New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have made sure my drivers are up to date, run memory tests, and disk checks. Went on another forum, and was told to uninstall Virtual Box. Uninstalled virtual box and the drivers associated with it. That seemed to fix it, until I got back home after a week away. I've experienced around 5 Bsod's and one freeze since arriving home. I am attaching the required files, the RAMMon report is in the .zip, and cpu-z pictures are in a sub-file in the .zip I've attached. Thank you to whoever takes the time to read this and help out :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,810
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff8001361715f, ffffd00026746e20, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!SeDefaultObjectMethod+c7 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    checking through your dmp files Im not sure that virtual box is the culprit neither is it mentioned in the stack Text. I still found traces of it in the Driver stack however. This web age explains on how to truly remove all traces:
    http://dottech.org/101997/how-to-uninstall-virtualbox-drivers-on-windows/

    I notice your using an SSD. Several dmp files pointed to I/O errors and old firmware could cause this:
    http://ocz.com/consumer/download/firmware

    The only driver I could find an update for was this:
    RTKVHD64.sys Wed Aug 21 05:48:22 2013. Realtek Hi-Def Audio:
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=14&PFid=24&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

    Try running a system file check. Open an admin cmd prompt (this web age explains how: http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/elevated-command-prompt-windows-8.htm ) Type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results.

    I know you said you'd ran memory tests but which exactly? If the bsod's continue after the above then download and run this app:
    http://www.memtest.org/ (this is the industry standard, anything else just doesn't cut it)
     
  3. Badstroller

    Badstroller New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you! I've gotten rid of the last drivers and registry items. I'm having problems with the ssd firmware, as it won't let me update the firmware for my particular ssd because it is the primary drive. However I do see that there is a Linux version of the toolbox, so I am going to boot into a linux live usb and try to do the firmware update from there.

    Edit: Toolbox does not work in linux live.
    How else can I go about updating my ssd firmware?
     
    #3 Badstroller, Jan 18, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014
  4. Badstroller

    Badstroller New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not updated the firmware yet, but I did do a system file check that returned nothing. I am now running memtest86+ and will run it for 10 passes and then post the results.
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,810
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Try running the firmware update as admin (right click on the set up exe and choose properties followed by run as admin)
     
  6. Badstroller

    Badstroller New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Three passes into Memtest...


    edit: ^ Don't know why that's all messed up.
     

    Attached Files:

    #6 Badstroller, Jan 18, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014
  7. Badstroller

    Badstroller New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay I ran memtest for 10 hours and got 4 errors in total. The ones in the picture I previously attached were the only four that occurred. Over the next five hours there were no more errors.

    Also: Running the firmware update as an admin doesn't make any difference. The firmware update guide for the toolbox software tells me that the vertex 3 cannot be updated while it is booted as the primary drive. Further reading revealed that there is a linux distro that ocz developed for this situation, but all of the links to the .iso download are dead.

    Edit: Successfully updated ssd firmware.

    Only standing issues are the errors from the memory test.
     
    #7 Badstroller, Jan 19, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2014
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,810
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Unfortunately that means either one or all your RAM sticks are bad. You need to find which stick is the culprit. Test again but leave only one stick in the machine. If it passes with no errors then it's good and set it aside. Test each stick until you find the one or ones that error out... Replace RAM
     

Share This Page

Loading...