Windows 7 Cannot Re-Assign Network Type in Network & Sharing Center

gremlinkurst

Extraordinary Member
This is REALLY cheesing my butt. I'm not a newbie; I'm proficient in the installation, use, and administration of over thirty different platforms, and in 2003, I became Microsoft-certified in Windows Networking. Each successive release of Windows has seen more and yet more control removed from the capable hands of experienced users, and the worst to date is Windows 7 Ultimate. Windows did not ASK me to assign a network type to an item appearing in the Network and Sharing center; it just decided all on its own that the network was public (It most definitely is NOT!!!), and BECAUSE of that arbitrarily-dictated assignment, I cannot view the map of that network! I want to see the map, and I can't do that until I change the network type to Home or Work. Since Windows refuses to allow me to effectively administer my OWN administrative account, does anyone know of any third-party solutions to my dilemma? or any back doors not offered in Help or Support?

Do you have all the latest updates? There was an issue with connections getting stuck in Public mode, but was fixed by KB2578723 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2578723)

There's also a Microsoft Fix it tool (50725) for this problem: http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9779407

If you want to go completely old school on your registry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\NetworkList\Profiles\
Open the network profile that you would like change and modify the "Category" value:
0 = public
1 = private
2 = domain

BACKUP any keys BEFORE you change them, reboot and see if it took effect.