Windows 7 Error: Error 1603. Error 1310. Error writing to file:

polarizeme

heya.
So my work bought me the Adobe CS4 Master Collection yesterday (I'm a graphic designer and an IT dude) and I simply cannot install it.

the installer will open just fine, but as soon as it starts installing from the DVDs, I get this error:
"Suite Shared Configuration CS4
Error:
Error 1603. Error 1310.Error writing to file: C:\Windows\winsxs\Manifests\x86_Microsoft.VC80.CRT_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.762_x-ww_6b128700.manifest. Verify that you have access to that directory."

I've tried the following things to no avail:
1) changing the permissions on /Manifests temporarily.
- result: "unable to save permission changes. access is denied."
- side note: the file x86_Microsoft.VC80.CRT_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.762_x-ww_6b128700.manifest does not exist at all. I'm assuming that CS4 is trying to *create* this file, but cannot due to there being no write permissions for my admin account on this folder.
- another side note: the group/user TrustedInstaller *DOES* have write permission to /Manifests.
2) I've tried making an .iso of the DVDs, copying the files to my C: and running them from there (just for the sake of saying I tried something else) and there was no luck there, either.

help! I totally uninstalled my old version of CS3, and I looked for the installation discs for that at work today with no luck. I've got a ton of work to do and no way to do it. =[

cheers!
- Tristan -

thank you :) you're very welcome! I had exactly the same dilema but it didn't work for me in the end, luckily I had a system restore at a point where adobe cs4 was working perfectly. When trying to set the 'winisxs' folder permissions in Windows 7 the installer then seemed to fail to load past 90%, I have a feeling its a Adobe Flash component problem though.