HDTV will not work with Windows 8 laptop

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Graphics' started by veloth, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. veloth

    veloth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I connect my HDTV to the laptop with an HDMI cable nothing shows on the TV, even when the TV is selected in Catalyst control panel. If I restart the laptop the TV will show what the Laptop screen shows until the laptop reaches the windows start screen then it goes blank. I would like to use my TV as my laptop screen but I can't seem to get it to work. Below are the system info.

    Graphic Card>>

    AMD Radeon HD 7640G>>

    AMD Catalyst Driver>>

    AMD Driver 9.12.0.0>>

    BIOS Version/Date Acer V1.03, 5/23/2012>>

    OS Name Microsoft Windows 8 Pro with Media Center>>

    Version 6.2.9200 Build 9200>>

    System Manufacturer Acer>>

    System Model Aspire V3-551>>

    System Type x64-based PC>>

    Processor AMD A8-4500M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, 1900 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)>>

    BIOS Version/Date Acer V1.03, 5/23/2012>>

    SMBIOS Version 2.7>>

    Embedded Controller Version 255.255>>

    BIOS Mode Legacy>>

    BaseBoard Manufacturer Acer>>

    BaseBoard Model Not Available>>

    BaseBoard Name Base Board>>

    Platform Role Mobile>>

    Secure Boot State Unsupported>>

    PCR7 Configuration Binding Not Possible>>

    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS>>

    System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32>>

    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume2>>

    Locale United States>>

    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.2.9200.16442">>

    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB>>

    Total Physical Memory 3.48 GB>>

    Available Physical Memory 2.14 GB>>

    Total Virtual Memory 6.73 GB>>

    Available Virtual Memory 5.26 GB>>

    Page File Space 3.25 GB>>

    Page File C:\pagefile.sys>>

    Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions Yes>>

    Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions Yes>>

    Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware Yes>>

    Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes>>
     
  2. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Have you tried pressing Win+P and selecting extend or secondary screen only? Just a thought.
     
  3. veloth

    veloth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply. I had tried that without success. I did solve the problem by getting a new 60" LED and then removing Windows 8. Thanks for the help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...