How to Fix Missing Gadgets In Windows 7 (Tutorial)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Tutorials' started by MichaelLawLtd, Apr 21, 2014.

  1. MichaelLawLtd

    MichaelLawLtd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How to Fix Missing Gadgets In Windows 7 (Tutorial)



    If you found this video useful. Feel free to subscribe to my Youtube Channel.
    www.youtube.com/michaellawltd
     
  2. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  3. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    Yeah right, I guess you don't want to use any old gadgets downloaded from the internet. But the default ones that come with the system, must be safe. I am running them on 6 systems and never had the slightest problem - knock on wood, LOL.

    The only problem I had was with IE11. That makes the gadgets either disappear or corrupt them. I have to check whether the methods proposed in the tutorial can fix that.
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
    I couldn't agree more...if anyone is using them, you're using them at your own risk. When MS released that warning statement I immediately uninstalled them.
     
  5. MichaelLawLtd

    MichaelLawLtd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the message guys. I've used the gadgets for a long time, I've never had any issues with them.
    Hopefully it stays that way.
     
  6. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Dawn Branchea, worked in Sea World for 15 years. Never a ptoblem until that fateful day.

    The morale of the story : It might not have happened to you, but that does not mean danger is not there. It's there, waiting to happen.

    Do it at your own risk.
     
  7. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    Danger is everywhere. If you go by that, you should never get out of bed - and then, most people die in bed. LOL
     
  8. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Life is full of dangers.
    The only way to combat is to avoid KNOWN dangers. That's the best we can do.
    Knowing there is possible danger but declining to avoid it is Stubbornness..........at best.
    Live by the sword, die by the sword.
     
  9. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I don't use gadgets because of security issues. I don't use gadgets because they take up system resources and slows down any PC. It doubles boot up time, etc. Those gadgets connect to the internet automatically to update themselves. You'll never know if someone is accessing your computer remotely through those gadgets that you've given permission and full access to your PC.

    I have a portable place for gadgets (aka "apps").... my SMARTPHONE.
     
    #9 badrobot, Apr 21, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2014
  10. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    What kind of a PC is that. I have 3 gadgets (clock, weather and CPU meter) running all the time plus the webradio and my CPU is at 3% and my RAM at 22%. Should I be worried about a performance impact ?
     
  11. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Then it does take up resources. I am not very particular about how many % but you just proved my point. Thank you. I hate computers that boot up for more than 60 sec.
     
  12. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    My computer boots in 15 seconds - is that bad. And 23 seconds to completely restart.

    Dell US.
     
  13. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    from hibernate? because mine does that too.
     
  14. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    No, not hibernate. I don't use that. These are cold boot numbers. And the reboot is a shutdown cycle, BIOS cycle and boot cycle all together in 23 secomds. I think that is pretty fast.
     
  15. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    are you talking about Win 7 here or Win 8?
     
  16. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    that is pretty fast for sure.
     
  17. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    It is Win 7. Win 8.1 I have only on my tablet.
     
  18. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
  19. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    You got me by 6 sec. I have 2 USB external drives attached.

    restarttime.
     
  20. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    That is an excellent time. I also have 3 external disks attached 1x eSata SSD, 1x USB3 SSHD and 1x USB2 HDD.
     

Share This Page

Loading...