Hyper-V Not Working

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by Sonny, Oct 7, 2014.

  1. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Hyper-V is giving me this message every time I try to connect. I have checked and double checked my bios to make sure every thing was enabled and even went back into programs and features to make sure every thing was checked. I hope someone here has an answer. I am totally lost.

    Capture1.PNG
     
  2. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I even ran this command to no success.
    upload_2014-10-7_18-36-12.
     
  3. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Does your hardware support virtulization? It sometimes needs to be enabled in the BIOS. I got my nephew a Windows 7 box last year and got a similar message with VMware Player. It has UEIF and I couldn't find any setting in the BIOS.
    Joe
     
  4. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    318
    Hi Sonny, there are a couple of reasons your hypervisa could be turned off… in order;

    You installed vm-ware on that system--- seriously they don't play nice together.

    You moved (or changed the path to) the hdd where hyper-v stores its files.

    Hardware failed--- this is very much a one in a million.

    If it isn't one of the above then we need more info,

    Is it the main hyper-v console or a sub-machine that stops working? For a sub machine, have you updated the cpu, network driver or antivirus because a new path through the firewall will then be needed.
     
  5. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I just installed VMware after I couldn't get Hyper-V to work. When I click on Windows 10 Preview to play it that is when I get the message. This was going on before I moved the files. It is the main hyper-v console.
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    First double check and confirm that your machine is configured and capable of running Hyper-V
    open a command prompt and type
    systeminfo
    hit enter
    read the bottom few lines for Hyper-V information.
     
  7. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    This is what it shows.

    upload_2014-10-7_20-12-7.
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Control Panel -> Programs and Features -> Turn Windows Features on or off -> Hyper-V-> Make sure everything is checked there.
    You may need to reboot not sure but
    Launch Hyper-V Manager and in the top right click "Start Service"

    EDIT: When you run systeminfo in a command prompt. If hyper-v is configured properly then it should say this.

    Hyper-V Requirements: A hypervisor has been detected. Features required for Hyper-V will not be displayed.
     
  9. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I guess I don't have it configured right. When running systeminfo I get the same info as I got the first time.
     
  10. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    318
    Edit: Trouble has this under control so I'll but out.

    Sorry Sonny but if the error pops up when you try to open the windows X then that is a sub-system not the main hyper-v.

    You can't have vmware and hyper-v on the same system--- there is no getting around this restriction however you can (and I do) run them both on the same physical machine with a dual boot i.e hyper-v on one and vmware on the other.

    At this point I suggest you will have to un-install vmware then remove hyper-v from "programs and features" * and restart the system--- you must remove them in reverse order so do the vmware first.

    When the system comes back up you re-activate (it isn't a real install per say) hyper-v and restart the system again.

    Now do the "systeminfo" as Trouble suggested… note this must be an admin command console or it will disappear as soon as it finishes running.

    * see screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I don't have VMware on the machine any more. However I found this and not sure how to fix it.

    Description: EFI Network
    Value: Configuration Error
    Firmware device path: \AcpiEx(VMBus,0,0)\VenHw(9B17E5A2-0891-42DD-B653-80B5C22809BA,635161F83EDFC546913FF2D2F965ED0EB4C5E3201BFF0541966DA4175F800795)\MAC(000000000000)
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Can you double check and confirm that you no longer have any other Virtualization Software on your computer. No Virtual Box and as you've said no VM Ware Player or any other version of VMware.
    Then open the services console
    services.msc
    Check to see the startup characteristics of the Hyper-V associated services.
    And see what is running.
     
  13. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Hi trouble and ussnorway, I couldn't find any traces of the other software so I am going to reinstall Windows 8.1 and start from scratch. I will let you know what happens with hyper-v.
     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    OK Sonny. Seems a bit drastic but it's your machine and your time so.....
    Enjoy.
    And yes, please keep us posted.
    One question, have you ever had Hyper-V configured and up and running on this machine in the past?
     
  15. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Thanks Trouble, No, this is the first time I have used it. Just to let you know that didn't do any good. Just getting the one message that says hypervision is not running. About ready to give up on it.
     
  16. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Just run systeminfo and it says the requirements are all meant.
     
  17. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Since your clean install, have you caught up all the Windows Updates yet?
    Go to programs and features in the control panel and on the left click the link that says turn windows features on and off. Expand everything under Hyper-V and see if everything is checked or if some of the options are grayed out.
     
  18. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    As far as I can tell, everything is checked.

    Capture.PNG
     
  19. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Looks good.
    So when you start Hyper-V manager, in the top right do you see an option to start the service?
    In the attached image mine is running so the option says stop services instead.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    How do you pull up the attached image like yours. I don't seem to have a way to do that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...