Media Disconnected - Laptop Won't Connect to Wifi

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by MichaelG, Oct 6, 2014.

  1. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    My laptop has been giving me an issue for several weeks where it will not connect to the internet. When I attempt to do ipconfig commands it tells me "No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection 13 while it has its media disconnected." As well as Local Area Connection 12, Bluetooth Network Connection, Ethernet, and Wi-Fi.

    I have tried many different troubleshooting methods I've seen online with no luck. If anyone has any clue, please let me know.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    We need to start of with your laptop specs.
    Manufacturer's Name, Model Name, Model Number (complete model number maybe on a tag on the bottom).
    Also open a command prompt and type
    ipconfig /all > desktop\ipconfig.txt
    hit enter
    attach that text file from your desktop to your next post (you may have to zip it first).
     
  3. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Samsung Series 7 Ultrabook Model: NP74OU3E-A01UB
    Whenever I try to use the command you gave me it just prints a blank line and doesn't give me the actual file on my desktop. So essentially, it wasn't doing anything. I'm not sure what would be causing that.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Just try a command prompt and type
    ipconfig /all
    and hit enter
    you can copy and paste that into a text document and attach it or you can paste the results into your next post in this thread.

    I'm assuming that their is something wrong with your wireless adapter. Either physically or just a driver issue.
    Unfortunately Samsung has not made things easy. Evidently you need to install there SW Update program and run that to obtain drivers and software updates ( I guess ).
    http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/NP740U3E-A01UB
     
  5. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already installed everything through the SW Update program.
    (Since the last time it connected to the internet anyway, so I'm not sure how it would have affected it so suddenly.)

    Here is the IP Config information.
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MichaelsLaptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Hosted Network Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : CA-F7-33-F9-30-EA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-F7-33-F9-30-EA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-F7-33-F9-30-ED
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 18-67-B0-2F-59-93
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6235
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-F7-33-F9-30-E9
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Looks like you're using Connectify or Microsoft's Native Services and complicating your Wifi connection by using it as a WiFi hotspot and hosting a virtual network.
    My suggestion would be to reverse that by reversing whatever you used or did to create it in the first place.
    Then see if you WiFi works as expected.
     
  7. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have never used nor heard of either of these. So I am not sure how to go about reversing something I am not sure how I did. I'll try looking those up while I await your response.
     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Just going by what you posted above
    It is possible that it might be a product of ICS if you are sharing your internet connection with other network nodes.
    Let's try seeing what you actually have for network adapters.
    Hold the Windows Logo Key and strike the R key and type
    ncpa.cpl
    hit enter
    In your network connections window change the view to details, make it large enough if possible to see all the information, you can resize the column widths by hovering your mouse on the right edge of each column header until it turns into a two sided arrow and then click and dragging them left of right for easier / complete reading.
    Use the Windows snipping tool to take an image and attach it to your next post.
     
  9. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's there, it must be something set-up by the manufacturer.

    Here is the image.
    Network Connections.PNG
     
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Do this easy enough to do and undo.
    Clean boot your machine according to the directions found here. http://support2.microsoft.com/kb/929135
    Choose your OS at the top and follow the directions for your specific Operating System.
    To undo this just follow the directions ... How to reset the computer to start normally after clean boot troubleshooting
     
  11. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, followed all instructions and rebooted my computer as a "clean boot", still not connecting to internet. Still gets stuck "Attempting to authenticate."
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Do you have the ability to use your cable (Cat5 Ethernet) connection?
    Just to see what symptoms you might see.
     
  13. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only have a standard Ethernet cable that I have connected to my desktop, isn't compatible with the Ultrabook.
     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    According to this
    It appears that you have a standard Realtek Ethernet Adapter which should allow you to use any standard Ethernet cable.
     
  15. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I've looked around the sides of my laptop and there seems to be no such port for said cable. :scratch:

    Edit: Don't believe the laptop is even wide enough to support the style of adapter. Ultrabooks are quite thin.

    Another Edit: http://www.pcmag.com/slideshow_viewer/0,3253,l=313601&a=313467&po=1,00.asp Here is the model laptop with pictures of all sides, there is no standard Ethernet port, there is however a port that I believe is meant to be for an adapter.
     
    #15 MichaelG, Oct 8, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2014
  16. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    328002-samsung-ativ-book-7-np740u3e-k01ub-left.

    It will open up to take the plug.
     
  17. MichaelG

    MichaelG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha, didn't realize it would do that! Alright, good to know. I will test this soon, but since my only Ethernet cable connects to my desktop (which I'm currently using), I will probably wait until tomorrow when I have spare time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...