Windows 10 No need for tuneup software

Bernard Stin

I have been running windows10 for almost a year. Im an old retired coder with 45 years under my belt. Until windows 10 came along ( this latest build) I had little love for windows. That has changed. Windows 10 is awesome, Microsoft finally got it right. Uninstall all your tuneup software and registry cleaners as they will slow and hurt windows 10 as it polices itself. When the system slows up you can use the windows REFRESH system without deleting files. Also uninstall all of your anti virus software. Use windows defender and firewall and leave your auto update on. Microsoft updates almost every day as fast as they find the bad stuff out there. If you are really paranoid use fix-it stick available from amazon, it works. Use Ethernet , wireless is only good for printers. Avoid 3rd party driver update software, let windows handle it. Use one drive for your file storage and plug in a 64 GB USB flash drive and leave it plugged in the pc and dump your files on that also in no order. They will always be there to retrieve and the flash drive is immune from PC hiccups. Sorry about the lecture but I'm sick of all the so called experts and gurus out here. also most laptops run 50% SLOWER when plugged in. Recharge every night and run on battery.

I don't trust the MS antivirus. It constantly does poorly when compared against commercial prodcts.
Joe

Hi

The problem with Refreshing your Windows 10 install is that it keeps your files but deletes your software.

I want a repair install, as you could do in Windows 7 that restores the Windows files and settings but leaves your installed software intact and running.

I think you can do that if you can find it, I ran across that option hidden away someplace when I was doing a Reset before a new install one time, but I couldn't tell you how to get to it.

I've used refresh a couple of times and it takes me a day to get all my software reinstalled.