No networks available (but I know for sure there are)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by lodo13, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. lodo13

    lodo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK so my laptop is saying that no networks are available but I know that my network is working because my brother is connected to it right now. My network card driver is up to date so I don't understand what is going on..
    PS I'm connected to my router via Ethernet cable to use my internet and it is working fine.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    lodo13:
    Hello and welcome to the forums.
    Let's start with the basics.
    Open a command prompt and type
    ipconfig /all
    and hit enter
    copy and paste the results specific to the network adapter you are using into the contents of your next post.
     
  3. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    While plugged into the router, could you double check that it's not hiding the BSSID. Only asking routers working with a wired connection.
     
  4. lodo13

    lodo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    C:\Users\Ryan>ipconfig /all


    Windows IP Configuration


    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ryan-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter


    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-25-78-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:


    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-38-BE-5D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d00a:e036:d3af:8759%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, July 13, 2011 4:18:05 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 14, 2011 4:46:11 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234888940
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-E5-AE-98-00-1E-EC-38-BE-5D


    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    71.242.0.12
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Tunnel adapter isatap.home:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:


    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2404:1065:93cb:e340(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2404:1065:93cb:e340%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    C:\Users\Ryan>
     
  5. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Honorable Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    115
    Only Ethernet is enabled. In fact there is no wifi adapter (etc) listed. So what does the lappy say in network and sharing? Is the wifi turned on? correct password? tried without password?
     
  6. lodo13

    lodo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is a lappy?
     
  7. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    Lappy = Laptop :)

    There is a wifi adapter it's just not connected

     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Have you been able to confirm that your Atheros wireless adapter works in other environments. Your system specs would be helpful. Also as posted above, is your router broadcasting it's SSID and there is some information out there that suggests that if the SSID is too long (in excess of 10 digits) this adapter has some problems.
    Do you know the driver version and date that this adapter is currently using?
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Here's a link to the issue with SSID lengths that I was talking about above. Not saying that, that is your problem, just adding information for you to use.
    SSID too long? - Spiceworks Community
     
  10. lodo13

    lodo13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    the problem is not with the router but with my computer because it shows up and connects perfectly fine with my other family members laptops i just don't know what the problem is
     
  11. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    #11 nmsuk, Jul 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Are all or any of the other family member's computers exactly the same as yours including their wireless adapter, wireless adapter driver, version and date?
    We're trying to help. Is this a laptop? If so have you attempted to use the wireless connections anywhere else, like a local library, coffee shop, McDonalds, or other hotspots or a neighbors or relatives house?
    If you have and it works then the problem is between your specific adapter and your router, they are not communicating and you need to address the cause. Do you know the router is broadcasting the SSID, do you know the SSID and the length of it.
    There are a multitude of other options that you can try but you need to confirm that your driver version and date are the most current available, sometimes those atheros cards can be finicky.
    You can try changing the channel on the router try 3 or 11, you can change the encryption on the router, try running it open, if successful try WEP, if successful try WPA and or WPA2,.
    We understand that you "just don't know what the problem is" and neither do we, so we are providing some suggestions for you to try. The fact that other family member laptops connect fine is a good thing but does nothing to address your issue. Your laptop is likely unique and may have hardware and software products installed that are not present on everyone elses computers. We have to start somewhere and the fact that the ethernet adapter works fine is a good sign, but the fact that the wireless adapter shows "Not connected" as its' current media state property is not. So it's driver update time or driver rollback time if you allowed the Windows Update Utility to Install a recent device driver update for your Atheros wireless card. Or you need to address the encryption currently running on the router or the channel to see if your laptop if it is a laptop, will connect with different settings.
    Regards
    Randy
     

Share This Page

Loading...