NTLDR is missing

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by Sherjan, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. It worked.. .Thanks a lot..
     
  2. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hey, I just caught this guy before on another thread.....SPAM!
     
  3. raghurangalo

    raghurangalo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi budy..
    i got the same problem and solved with this command...
    i have dell xps with windows vista black edition...
    thanx buddy
     
  4. NickXmL

    NickXmL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a problem like this too. I have a vista Ultimate 64 DVD, but am upgrading from XP pro, so I uninstalled XP for a clean installation (as microsoft states) and when I put in the DVD and restarted. I got the message, no prompts, nothing. The setup works on my laptop running vista Home Premium 64 just fine.

    Specs:

    Q6600 G0 @3GHz
    2GB DDR2 667 (XMS2)
    XFX 9800 GT (OC)
    320GB Hitachi Deskstar HDD

    If I need to give more, dont hesitate to ask :p
     
  5. skitt123

    skitt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got this message on my desktop. I wasn't upgrading anything... I just left it on when I went to bed one night, and when I got up, it was on that NTLDR is Missing screen. I put in my Vista disk to boot from CD, but when it says "Press any key to boot from CD", I do it, and then it just says NTLDR is Missing again. It won't pull up anything off of the CD. Perhaps maybe the hard drive is fried? I don't know what else to do. What would be the next step in this scenario?
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  7. idavid

    idavid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I encountered similar problem two days ago. I have Dell Inspirion 1520 with Win Vista Home Premium. I was working on laptop then I hibernated it and after some time I wanted to restart comp and work again. Since that time on I have tried to find some solutions and I was attempting to copycat your recommendation. However, when I open Command Prompt I get the line:

    X:\Sources>

    Then I tried to write some commands like

    X:\sources>bootrec.exe/fixboot .... fixmbr... and nothing works. I am not very well versed in DOS commands. Could you help how to continue?

    Thank you very much

    ID
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Neither am I really... The only thing i can suggest is try another solution if you can.
    Or let me know which particular solution your working from and I'll have a look at it myself.
     
  9. idavid

    idavid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I solved the problem but honestly I do not know how exactly it happened:tongue:.
    Then I tried to write some commands like

    X:\sources>bootrec.exe/fixboot .... fixmbr

    as I wrote then I took DVD out of drive and restarted comp and I got the same message NTLDR is missing. The guy from Dell wanted me to perform full diagnostic test. I performed that and then comp was automatically restarted WITH DVD in the drive. And this was probably the point. Leaving DVD in the drive enabled to comp to do something because after that my comp booted!!!! Ususal instructions however are "To take the DVD out of the DVD/CD drive before restarting".
    Maybe my explanation is incorrect but thruth is that I recovered booting and now I do not have problem any more.

    Regards

    idavid
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Thanks for the update...:)
     
  11. METALMAN

    METALMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw a fix it on the forum for the "ntldr missing error" for vista, that gives directions
    on using the vista install disk. Will using this disk wipe out all of my info.
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    If your just using the repair function then no..
     
  13. reevesy

    reevesy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This didnt seem to work for me. i got an error message ; an unexpected I/O error has orrcured
    this hapens every time i load from my vista cd. i have no devices plugged into my laptop and dont know what to do now.
    any help is appreciated
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  15. bobblah

    bobblah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to say thanks to Dom on Page 1 - those instructions worked for me :D
    (Dell XPS M1330 Windows 7 x64)
     

Share This Page

Loading...