Windows 7 Program backup for system recovery

rosphite1

I'm not a techie by any stretch of the imagination but my computer is acting up. Over a period of 2+ months I've been carrying out various tests, restores and processes checking various bits and pieces and I conclude that it seems to be something with the nVIDIA drivers and the windows desktop manager (which does not work anymore - always triggers error on startup and closes).
This is a conclusion - not definitive.

The computer is now starting to lag and appear slow. I run 5 screens (non-gaming) for trading and the screens are retaining lines when I move windows around (hence, my suspicion that the drivers are related to the problem - as also mentioned on the nVIDIA site)

Anyhow, I'm resigned to the fact that I need to try the system recovery (can't do a system restore as it wasn't switched on!). I've found the explanation of this process. It seems pretty simple. But first I need to take all my programs/applications off the computer and their dependant files.
Is there a link anywhere that would guide someone through this using baby steps? [im terrified that some software that I have bought to work within applications may disappear - hence why I haven't done a system recovery prior to this]
I'm assuming that I can copy my apps/progs back onto the recovered PC and hey presto everything is as was - please clarify if I'm incorrect? Also, the handling of the Norton antivirus that I use!!!

My other question is regarding the drivers that are used for running the various devices attached to the PC e.g. speakers, printer, screen-drivers, DVD etc....
How are these handled and/or what do I need to do to ensure that everything works after the recovery?

I can imagine that I may get responses that might appear basic to the learned but please bare in mind that anything other than plain English will have me looking up explanations of explanations (especially acronyms) and completely throw me.