Ram upgrade

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by rogervansteeden, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. rogervansteeden

    rogervansteeden New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    After weeks of problems thinking my motherboard was faulty i finally found that one of my ram chips was faulty so i ordered new ram after discussion with Cricial technology and today i installed 2 gig of ram but now the BSOD says your Bios needs updating can anyone advise me how to do this please.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    You will need to identify the make and model of your motherboard then download from their website.
     
  3. rogervansteeden

    rogervansteeden New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are about 12 updates none of them mention memory problems the first says first update and not what its for
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    They may not specifically mention memory problems. Generally speaking you are best just going for the most recent bios issued by the manufacturer for your mobo.
     
  5. rogervansteeden

    rogervansteeden New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Upgraded my bios but i am still getting same Bsod stating this bios is not ACPI compliant
     
  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Is that happening both with and without the new ram stick in? You may have a problem with memory type or with the maximum capacity per slot.
     
  7. rogervansteeden

    rogervansteeden New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    When i contacted crucial they didnt have ther ballistix tracer ddr2 that i had and when i scanned my machine it gave about 11 different and the customer service said it was ok backwards compatable there is no problem with an extra i gig stick inserted its only when i try 4 gig my motherboard supports upto 8 gig so that shouldnt be an issue im using 64 bit operating system windows 7
     
  8. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    What is the make and model of the motherboard?
     
  9. rogervansteeden

    rogervansteeden New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Asus m2n32-sli premium vista edition
     
  10. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    There are recommended configurations - see the info in the attached extract from your motherboard manual.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. rogervansteeden

    rogervansteeden New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will try that tomorrow and let you know the outcome

    many thanks
     
  12. rogervansteeden

    rogervansteeden New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I repositioned the ram as in extract but same message bsod bios not acpi compliant.i have 2 ballistix tracer i gig modules and 2x1 gig 800 speed ram which i was advised to buy as ballistix tracer ddr2 was not available and i questioned are you sure that these are compatable and was advised that they are
     

Share This Page

Loading...