Remote Desktop Protocol Error

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by andrewljones2000, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. daymang

    daymang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sir!!!!
    Thank you for your concern, but there isn't any 'Data' to mine!!!
     
  2. Steelion

    Steelion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been fighting this problem on and off on some of my XP machines over the past decade and, more recently, on Windows 7 (both Ultimate and Enterprise, 64-bit and 32-bit). Often it seems to be some application that's somehow interfering with rdp services. Interestingly, the problem arises more often (in my case) after I *kill* (instead of "diconnecting") an RDP client session that was created on some *particular* computers (so some interference between client software and the server might be present also).

    I was unable to improve this rare situation (this happens to me just once per approx. 200 reconnections to the same server) using any of the prescriptions found here or elsewhere, however, recently I identified a piece of software that needs to be terminated on the server to make it possible for me to reconnect to my remote session in Windows 7 64 bit Enterprise running on the server. This piece of software, in my case, with my all other soft running in background on the server also is dwm.exe - Microsoft's own Desktop Window Manager. I found that, to be able to reconnect to my server after rdp protocol error arises, all I need to do is to terminate dwm.exe on the server (it restarts automatically after that)! In my opinion, this is, again, pointing toward some interference among the programs I run on the server, so, as much as many people might be surprised, I would not blame MS for that at all, as they do not control the environment as tightly as Apple does, so I have to live with this DIY.

    Anyway, killing dwm.exe works! It would be very interesting to collect some statistics if this solution would work for *you*.

    Here is how *I* take care of killing dwm.exe:

    1) I have cygwin installed on my server,

    2) sshd deamon (from cygwin) is running on my server allowing interactive shell login (and all other services that are based on secure tunnell btw, it might be cygwin that gives me trouble in the first place, as I always run cygwin on all my Windows machines, but I don't care - I just needed a working solution and now I have it),

    3) when I experience rdp protocol error, I log in to my server using ssh and

    4) figure out process id for dwm.exe using (for those unfamiliar with this, it's a UNIX) command(s)

    ps -W | grep "dwm"

    here is an example of what I see on the screen in my terminal window:

    $ ps -W | grep "dwm"

    5220 0 0 5220 ? 0 09:26:28 C:\Windows\System32\dwm.exe

    5) then I use Windows's own taskkill.exe to terminate the task:

    a) first need to navigate to where taskkill.exe is located (e.g. c:\Windows\system32\taskkill.exe in a 32-bit OS, but mine is 64 bit, so I do the following from my ssh window):

    cd c:\Windows
    cd SysWOW64

    (obviously, my system disk is "c", SysWOW64 indicates I am running a 64-bit Windows,
    it has nothing to do with World of Warcraft)

    and then

    b) ./taskkill.exe /PID PROCID /F
    where PROCID is process id for dwm.exe I figured out using ps -W | grep "dwm"
    (i.e. 5220 in the example above)

    this has been working just great for me over the past few months, while I experienced rdp protocol error only a few times since than, taking care of (i.e. terminating) dwm.exe worked like a charm every time (but, of course, my statistics are limited). It happened to me again this morning and, this time, I thought I should share my solution with people on this forum, as I have been here many times to learn how to solve various problems.
     
    #22 Steelion, Jan 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2011
    1 person likes this.
  3. suenm

    suenm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,

    could you find a solution for this problem??

     
  4. jmerlos282

    jmerlos282 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey andrew, can you help me with the files please? jmerlos282@gmail.com. I was with the same proble for a long time.

    thanks in advaced.

    regards

     
  5. sounds

    sounds New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ Steelion - thanks for this, works for me ... only comments I have are that you need to specify the SSH module when installing cygwin (although it can be added afterwards if you miss it out like I did!). I also found that you may have to capitalise the first letter of your username when logging in remotely, and when searching for the process you also need to capitalise the first character (ie, search for Dwm not dwm)

    all it needs now is for the bug causing the issue in the first place to be fixed ... :ahaha:
     
  6. farah

    farah New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Remote Desktop Protocol Error this session will be disconnected

    Hi all,

    i am having this issue since yesterday afternoon, when i try to logon on server using remote desktop this message poping up"protocol error this session will be disconnected" i am not quite sure what cause this problem, i have search read different forums but could not find right solution yet, could someone help me this, i am realy need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. i cannot connect to the server remotely anymore.
     
  7. Rofty

    Rofty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. computerrepairi

    computerrepairi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Every desktop with 7 have this problem, so nothing to do with it just download team viewer and i think it habe more features than the default 7 remote desktop.
     
  9. ahmedasifuddin

    ahmedasifuddin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    please send me the valid solution , coz i use win7 and i am going to from win7 remote desktop to win server 2003 , which install microsoft terminal service license installed there, but problem is same as u discussed above...my email id is (email removed for members protection)

    Please don't put your email address in forum messages. Other members will respond to your query here.
     
    #29 ahmedasifuddin, Jan 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2012
  10. davidh

    davidh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. davidh

    davidh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    please send the files to david@lola-tech.com
     
  12. Amitabha Das

    Amitabha Das New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi!
    i want the 2 files too!my email address is : am_itabha@yahoo.com
    i am waiting for it!it is so important for me!
     
  13. SalIT

    SalIT New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Can you please send me the 4 files to epcihanga@yahoo.com. Thanks so much for your assistance.

    C:\Windows\System32\mstc.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\mstscax.dll
    C:\Windows\System32\en-US\mstc.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\en-US\mstscax.dll
     

Share This Page

Loading...