send to missing from context menu

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by nichos, Jun 20, 2015.

  1. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    Sendto does not exixt in usualplace C:\Users\X\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\SendTo,

    In fact Apdada & the rest do not appear in Users at all ?? but, typing in Run "shell:sendto" the above are shown in the win Explorer top line & the send to items are listed in the right pane.

    Any way of including "send to" in the right click context menu ?. .... thanx .....nick

    __________________
    Asus P5K Premium WiFiiFi, Intel Core 2 Quad Pro 2.4GHz, OCZ Cpu Cooler, 2x2GB, DDR2 800 PC2-6400, GeForce 9800 GTX (PCI-E), sata 160gb, OCZ 600W Psu, Win8.1
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,821
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Sounds like your system has become corrupted. Do you have a system restore point you can go back to? You could also try running the system file checker and see if that will rectify some of the coruuption. Find command prompt in the start menu, right click on it and run as admin. Type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results.

    If the scan comes back with corrupted files it can't repair then run this scan in the same cmd box: Type (or copy and paste):
    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth
    Press enter and await results. This can take some time so please be patient.

    If it's successful run the first sfc scan again.
     
  3. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanx,

    EDIT:- No integrity violation found in scan.
     
    #3 nichos, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,821
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Do you have a restore point you could go back to before the issue occurred?
     
  5. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes I think, will try & report
     
  6. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    315
    @nichos: is this a local account or a Microsoft account?
     
  7. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks,
    You really got me there. I get these two mixed up. Only recently this MS Account appeared in my PC due perhaps that MS is keep pushing to get into everything I used to do.

    They keep asking for security code & such like that I never had before. Only had passwords & user names.

    I feel I must have been foxed to into clicking YES into something & got all meddled up now. .....nick

    EDIT: and another just came in out of the blue to confuse me further:- "...New sign-in from Internet Explorer on Windows...."
     
  8. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Kemical,

    I used my flash stick I made a couple of weeks ago & reinstalled w8.1 but, still same problem.

    EDIT:-
    In recovery could not find any restore points that am sure I created before.
     
    #8 nichos, Jun 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2015
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,821
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Is there any recovery points at all or is it empty?

    The security code you refer to above relates to a process of confirming your account. It's Microsoft's way of confirming who you say you are by sending you a security code. You have set up which email account you'll use to receive the code beforehand.
     
  10. nichos

    nichos Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    In recovery I can only see create a recovery drive & nothing about R.POINTS??

    But I stumbled on to Send to above "x" in Default.migrated which I did not notice before anywhere, so this is solved.

    Now how about Recovery points, am I looking in the wrong place again?
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,821
    Likes Received:
    1,565

Share This Page

Loading...