setup.exe has stopped working

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by iuta, Dec 3, 2015.

  1. iuta

    iuta Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello !
    After installation of Windows 10 1511.
    When I try to run an ISO image, I receive this message : setup.exe has stopped working
    and close the program.
    Also I was receiving the error : Microsoft Setup Bootstrapper has stopped working.
    How can I fix these problems ?
    Thanks you in advance!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    You cannot "run" an ISO image - how are you trying to do this? You need either to burn the image to a disk and then run it from the disk or else exgtract the files contained within the iso image to a folder somewhere and run it from the folder.
     
  3. iuta

    iuta Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use PowerISO,Daemon Tool,Image ISO form Windows 10 Pro.
    I have the ISO image on the HDD
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Have you tried using PowerISO to physically extract the files to your hard drive and run the setup directly from the extracted files?
     
  5. iuta

    iuta Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried this,same error :
     

    Attached Files:

  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Your ISO image may be corrupt, where did you download from?
     
  7. iuta

    iuta Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought this but.
    After I installed Windows 10 for first time same ISO image , it is work very good.
    I tried other ISO images to eliminate suspicions, same error.
     
  8. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
  9. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    125
    On another related note, Windows itself will mount ISO images now, just open them with Explorer :)

    You can also burn them using Windows built in isoburn.exe (located in System32 folder)
     
  10. iuta

    iuta Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed Windows 10 Pro fresh copy , for first time same ISO image , it is work very good.
    I tried other ISO images to eliminate suspicions, same error.
    I tried with Daemon Tools, Power ISO,Explorer Drive Tools,WinCDEmu same error.
    I assume that an upgrade is not working OK, but I do not have installation errors..
     

    Attached Files:

    • 01.
      01.jpg
      File size:
      45.5 KB
      Views:
      9
    • 00.
      00.jpg
      File size:
      55.7 KB
      Views:
      6

Share This Page

Loading...