[solved] Display issues after 8.1 upgrade (Metro UI)

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by JulieA, Apr 18, 2014.

  1. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    After the upgrade of 8.1 I got display issues because the resolution of Windows Apps (Metro UI, Internet Explorer, Login Page ...) has become lower than the resolution of windows. In my setting it is set at maximum level.

    Here you can see the problem (and you can see that resolution of Chrome is at its normal level whereas resolution of IE is at a low level) :
    http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=685678Capturedcran20140418222251.png

    Could you help me ? (sorry for the mistakes I'm french...!)

    Thanks,
     
    #1 JulieA, Apr 18, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  2. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    81
    You probably need to update your display driver for Windows 8.1.AMD, nVidia and Intel all have display drivers for Windows 8.1. I'm not having any such display issue's on my desktop or notebook. Both have 8.1 and current display driver's for Windows 8.1.
     
  3. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
  4. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the answer. My drivers cannot been updated since I got the message "The driver hasn't been validated for this computer.. Contact the manufacturer of the computer to get the appropriate driver." (I downloaded the driver from Intel but I think ASUS has to approve the driver...).

    Thanks. You are right, I don't know why I didn't look at zoom setting. I fixed the IE resolution issue by setting the zoom to 100% instead of 150%.

    But I still have display issue with Metro UI :/
     
  5. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    What's the exact nature of the metro/start screen issue? Can you post some screen shots of that issue? What's the exact make/model of your notebook/netbook/laptop?
     
  6. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    #6 JulieA, Apr 19, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  7. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Those 2 screen shot are showing as identical on my end....I can't see a difference between the two. Also I thought this was a metro issue and not a browser or window issue. I would like to see a screen shot of your metro screen and a screen shot of your resolution settings.
     
  8. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
  9. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    But that is very strange because before the update that was much smaller and more pleasurable to see.

    Resolution settings :
    http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/174532Capturedcran20140419130236.png
    http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/841858Sanstitre.png

    Metro :
    http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/349704Sanstitre.png

    Thanks but actually it is the UX301 model (https://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/ASUS_ZENBOOK_UX301LA/HelpDesk_Download/) and I think it's updated because there is AsusLiveUpdate Center which I think update directly the driver which are on the ASUS offical website.

    Thanks a lot for your help.
     
  10. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Use this utility CPU-Z (click the hyperlink) and post a screen shot of these tabs...CPU and mainboard. This way I can verify your BIOS version. Then go to device manager and check each hardware component to verify you have the latest driver version installed from your drivers download page. If not, then update as needed.

    With those new screen shots, btw thank you, I can't see anything out of the ordinary as far as resolution/fuzziness/blurry/size. You keep referring to before the update/upgrade to 8.1 and if that's the case there would be no comparison from before. This is why I can't see any difference from what you're describing to what you're posting.
     
    #10 bassfisher6522, Apr 19, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  11. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    So according to your screen shot you're using BIOS version 205 which is not even listed on your drivers support page. There is a version 206 which I would update to which very well might solve your problem.

    This leads me to believe that there are other drivers that need updating as well like I suspected from the onset.
     
  13. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Y're right ! But I don't know which file is the one for my computer (UX301LAAS206 or UX301LAS206).
    EDIT : I'm going to check in the BIOS Setup.
     
  14. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    There isn't any information in the Bios Setup which tell me the one to take : /

    http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/904828photo.jpg

    And I'm downloading the 10.18.10.3308.02 (18/11/2013) driver for the graphic card because mine is a little outdated (10.18.10.3308, 16/09/2013). It's said "This driver is for Windows 8.1 upgrade.", hope it will fix the problem ! (EDIT : it didn't ! Ha : ( )
     
    #14 JulieA, Apr 19, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  15. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    There are four sizes you can select for the Metro screen apps from the right click menu, but yours look like mine also.
     
  16. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks ! But the 4 sizes apply just for the apps icons and not for the global UI.
     
  17. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    According to the information you provided, "I have an ASUS UX301LA-C4003P", the BIOS version you need it the top/first one. It's designated by LA and not LAA.
     
  18. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Nice job on the BIOS update! You've updated the graphics driver. We've adjusted the browsers zoom settings. Nothing left from a hardware/software issue stand point. I'm out of options...maybe contact Asus directly and explain to them what your problem is and what you've done to correct. It maybe something we've overlooked or something that Asus will have to do.
     
  20. JulieA

    JulieA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot for your help ! We fixed some of the problems ! I'm going to contact Asus and will let you know when I get an answer :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...