somethings wrong with my keyboard

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Nilsb7, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Maybe not a pc name ... but...

    Cick "Start" type "us" and click on User Accounts / manage another account / create a new account and type in
    J A C K and it will save it... then later the paths to this user's files can be confused because of the spaces.
     
  2. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Windows has given me so many warnings against spaces in file names. I can't believe it would allow someone to use them in a user account name.

    I opened the cbs.log in Notepad under elevated status. When I used "Find" and looked for unable it went straight to the entry I found before. I guess yours doesn't have this. If it didn't fix it after you ran SFC and rebooted then it won't work. I'm sorry.
     
    #22 stueycaster, Oct 7, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2009
  3. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, I don't use DVD's, I unrar the iso files to my harddrive and than just start the setup.exe :D
    saves me some bucks ^^
    I'll try that later, the problem ain't that big that I can't use my system right now, it's just annoying, so I'll try it this weekend or so :)
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,842
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    That could be where your problem lies... A clean install should provide you with a much better running system.
     
  5. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    noooo, i did a clean install, I installed from DVD, this one time :p
    and I did a clean install before that, from windows xp 64 bit, worked fine, just running the setup.exe by doubleklicking :D
     
  6. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    It seems to me like it won't work to install Windows from the hard drive. The biggest part of the installation happens in BIOS. I could definitely be wrong about that. It's just that I've always installed from the Windows disk. Can you do that?
     
  7. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did NOOOOT install from hard drive this time.

    but I used to do it like that, and it worked great for 5 times, no odd things happening to my keyboard as this time when I use a DVD to install :/

    And it really works xD it just starts up the installation, copies some files, then restarts, goes into some not really finished windows 7 and continues installing. I doubt that windows made this option with knowing it doesn't work ^^
     
  8. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Man, you are making me cry. A blank dvd doesn't even cost a nickle these days... and you never have buffer underuns that spit them out with just enough data to make them un-usable. The first cd's.. yeah cd's not DVD's I bought cost $8 each. We only made 50 cents a day back then so you can imagine the misery when a buffer underrun spit one out making it a coffee cup coaster.
     
  9. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Sorry, I thought it was impossible. I stand corrected. :)
     
  10. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, so what? :p I don't like DVD's & CD's so I don't use them ^^ I didn't even have a DVD/CD drive till one month ago :p because I don't use it, everything I need is on the internet :D
    Just like the floppy drive, CD's & DVD's are old to me, why use them if I can just download it?

    but please, any other solutions to my problem instead of reinstalling windows?

    oh and just for stueycaster, http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/4723/spacesbiatchhehe.png :) IT REALLY WORKS :p and I dont have any problems with the spaces in my username, just this once when using msdos, but well how often do I use that, and I found another way so :)
     
    #30 Nilsb7, Oct 8, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2009
  11. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Hey cool. I guess it's not such a problem after all. I'm glad things are working out for you. :)
     
  12. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D

    no other solutions regarding the keyboard problem? :frown:
     
  13. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    zonk

    I just reinstalled windows, I wan't to smash my keyboard against the wall.
     
  14. stueycaster

    stueycaster Millennium Celebration Award Winner
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    53
    Did it fix the problem?
     
  15. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I'll try throwing it out of the window tomorrow.
     
  16. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Ok.. you have verified you don't have your keyboard remapped. (that would be my first suspicion)

    You have run system file checker

    You have gone to Panda Autoscan and verified you don't have a virus or malware. (Panda is free and is EXCELLENT and always has the most current definitions because they use Panda's database and not a potentially older databaed you haven't downloaded and installed)


    You have tried another keyboard? They are $10 at walmart... you've probably pulled $20 worth of hair out of your head already.


    You know you have the correct and most current drivers for your keyboard... and have checked your driver dates to make sure the driver update ACTUALLY put them in your system32\drivers folder? I have updated drivers the vendor install program just left them sitting in another folder. I had to manually copy them.

    You have viewed the Administrator logs in the Event Viewer

    Did it ever work correctly? If so, have you restored your registry to that time when there was no problem?


    After doing all that I would reinstall windoz.
     
  17. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea I just tried another (broken) keyboard, not the same weird shortcuts, so its my keyboard that's wrecked.
    I should've tried that earlier...
    Thanks for the help anyways :)
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,842
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    I did wonder if it was the k'board..At least now you know.
     
  19. Nilsb7

    Nilsb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a new keyboard, a Razer Arctosa, now everythings working fine :)
     
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,842
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Nice choice! I love Razer products and use a copperhead mouse..Best mouse I've ever had. I've been using it for the last 2years and it's still as good as the day I bought it. Other mice always seem to go bad in the end...
     

Share This Page

Loading...