Start doesn't doesn't want to work on bootup?

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Age, Jun 19, 2016.

  1. Age

    Age Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    How come everytime I boot up my pc my start menu doesn't work as well as my windows keys?
     
  2. Ebm9000

    Ebm9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Explorer.exe might not be running/is set not to run/is corrupted. If you can, do CTRL + ALT + DEL, select task manager, and start the process. If it doesn't work/if it doesn't work on reboot, then do the same thing, but go to File > New task, and type "CMD" and check the run as administrator box and hit ok.

    After an Admin. command prompt opens, type:

    sfc /scannow

    and press enter. You can also use a system restore (if you can get explorer.exe to pop up by running it manually then holding SHIFT and clicking restart) or a refresh. (<A refresh deletes all programs but keeps your files)
     
  3. Age

    Age Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    The task manager show it running and I don't want to do this and have re download all my programs again.
    (<A refresh deletes all programs but keeps your files)
    That is not an option.
     
  4. Ebm9000

    Ebm9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried system restore? Or an offline virus scan?
     
  5. Age

    Age Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    No never have used system restore.How do you use it again.

    Sometimes on boot up my start menu does work.
     
  6. Ebm9000

    Ebm9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get explorer working (if you can't, do CTRL SHIFT ESC, click file, and run the command "control" and find it) and type system restore in the start menu search bar.
     
  7. Age

    Age Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    What if you log in and type the wrong pass word then retype it?What would that do as I just restarted and typed the right pw not mispelled this time?What would that do?
     
  8. Ebm9000

    Ebm9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you typed the wrong password, you wouldn't be logged in
     

Share This Page

Loading...