Test Windows 7 and FAT32 -- no-go you need NTFS

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jimbo45, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. jimbo45

    jimbo45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hi guys
    just tested trying to install W7 on a FAT disk -- no-go it appears it will only install on NTFS although it can read / write FAT32 disks (and FAT 16 if you still have them --maybe some SD cards etc).

    There's no reason anymore to use FAT32 anyway - even LINUX can read / write NTFS as I've posted elsewhere on this forum so if you are attempting to load windows 7 on an external USB drive convert it to NTFS first.

    Cheers
    jimbo
     
  2. Sabotack

    Sabotack New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been running into tons of problems with my ipod (b&w clickwheel) and my friends ipod nano (color ... fairly new) because they mount as fat32.

    Also I have a jump drive that has a bootable linux on it... that won't mount either (or it attempts to... and stops working) that has to be formatted for fat32 for it to work.

    I'm going to call microsoft support tonight

     
  3. silvyus06

    silvyus06 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow it would be interesting to do that with windows 7when i will be rich enough to get a 32 GB flash drive .. or at least 16 gb ..

    i've already done that with linux though ..

    anyways , if you install windows on the usb drive and attempt to boot from it in another computer ... ufff.
     
  4. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    I don't think it's so much that Windows 7 can't run on FAT partitions, but rather that it won't allow you to because of the differences between FAT and NTFS.
     
  5. silvyus06

    silvyus06 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or perhaps windows has some super bigger than 4GB in it's installation that we don't know about and therefore it cannot install properly ??
     

Share This Page

Loading...