Unable to display page

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by davidgeman, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. davidgeman

    davidgeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get the message that they are unable to display this page at least 10/12 times a day. If I go back & retry a few times I normally manage to get that page up. I have done all the basics like clear the Cache, clear out & reinstall Win 10 (the same thing happened with Win 9). Remove all add-ons etc etc. Any one got anything new to try please? Please bear in mind I am the original dummy on here when giving instructions, thank you
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    What page/site in-particular are we talking about? Try F5 key or ctrl F5 to refresh the page in question.
     
  3. davidgeman

    davidgeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It could be any page on any site. I have been on a page & turned it off only to want to go back to it within a minute & not been able to. I have been on sites with a multitude of pages & any page can suddenly not be available for display. I have been on a sports page & merely refreshed it & it has occurred.
     
  4. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    1. Please use the correct name. It is either IE9 or IE10.
    2. You mentioned "reinstall Win 10", would you terribly mind describing how did you "uninstall" IE10 ?
    3. Did you use the official Microsoft website for downloading IE10 ?
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-ca/internet-explorer/ie-10-worldwide-languages
    4. Have you tried using a different browser, and if yes, did you have the same issue ?
     
  5. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    #5 bassfisher6522, Jul 28, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2013
  6. davidgeman

    davidgeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had Win 9 prior to Win 10, therefore both Win 9 & Win 10 are correct. I had been instructed to re-instate Win 10 to try & clear the problem, so I followed the instructions so to do. I have tried using Chrome & the issue does not appear.
    Could you explain Try running sfc /scannow in a cmd prompt window means & how to do?
    Thank you
     
  7. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    Hi. Clearly you mean Internet Explorer 9 or Internet Explorer 10. Windows is the operating system. So your problem is either with Internet Explorer or the connection itself.

    http://www.pingtest.net/

    This is an online test for packet loss. You may see a bunch of requests for Java to run. Allow this to happen.

    You should get a fairly low ping (0-500 ms generally). The lower the number the better. You should get 0% packet loss. Here's my packet loss. Notice it is 0%:

    [​IMG]

    Alternatively, you can open the Command Prompt (Search -> cmd)

    And run ping -t -n 20 google.com

    You should see a good result, with 0% loss. Here's my ping results and packet loss:

    Code:
    C:\Windows\system32>ping -t -n 20 google.com
    
    Pinging google.com [173.194.43.33] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=55
    Reply from 173.194.43.33: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=55
    
    Ping statistics for 173.194.43.33:
        Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 20, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 18ms, Average = 12ms
    
     
  8. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    If you look at my post reply (post #5) you'll see that I've linked to sites to show you how to do all that.
     
  9. davidgeman

    davidgeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    As said earlier I am a relative novice on here. Of course you are right I meant IE9 & 10 I am using Win 7.
    My ping test gave a lot less info then yours & showed
    Ping 30. Jitter 1. Unable to measure "Packet Loss" despite downloading various Java applications & turning my Firewall off temporarily.
    I have run the systems own Connection/connectivity tests umpteen times & it has not found any problems. (It does not say there are no problems, just that it could not find any.)
    When trying to get the Java download I lost the page again, second try I got straight on.
    thanks for your patience.
     

Share This Page

Loading...