Wake On WAN Via Internet From Anywhere Problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Karim Kahale, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. Karim Kahale

    Karim Kahale New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    the past 2 weeks, I spent more than 24 hours searching for methods to wake on WAN but the tutorials were so confusing regarding the port forwarding.
    I have already done wake on lan over local network or local wifi but I couldn't do that from outside my company.
    Can someone describe how can I wake up my computers wherever I am using internet?
    Thank you so much for your support.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
  3. Karim Kahale

    Karim Kahale New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Doing what you want to do apparently needs some work. I think patcooke's advice is good. "This can not be done with one click".
     
  5. Karim Kahale

    Karim Kahale New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I do know that and I have already succeeded in waking my computers over a local wifi but I got stuck on waking up my computers from anywhere using a router where I can do some port forwarding.
    I actually read a lot of tutorials but each one talked about a different way which confused me.
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Are you referring to a situation where you want to wake your work computer from home? If so, how do you access the computer from home?

    Could you use a scheduled task to wake the system instead of the Network Adapter?
     
  7. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    You will have to request your company's IT to setup a VPN on your home computer to be able to get access to your company's network. To get into company's private network from public or home network, you have to get past the company's security by having a verified access. And VPN setup is one way to do that.
     
  8. Sys Admin

    Sys Admin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I had similar wake on lan problem with my Realtek NIC.
    I solved it by installing vendor NIC driver from Realtek website.
     

Share This Page

Loading...