Win 10 Tech Preview questions

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by davidhk129, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    I apologize that I am posting my questions here. But, there is no Win 10 forum for me to use.

    Host OS : Win 7
    Guest OS : Win 10 Tech Preview installed in VMware Player.

    I have 3 questions/problems.......

    1. Windows Update is set at Manual in my host OS. But, my guest OS is set at Auto.
    I tried to changed it but the option is grayed out.
    See screenshot at the end.

    2. I also tried to "check for updates" and received an error code 8024402C.

    3. My host OS is on WiFi but my guest OS is on Ethernet. Don't know how to change that.

    Image 8.
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    As you know it's a Preview and it's not complete yet...thus some things wont' work right or just not implemented yet. I would see what others are reporting and see if there's any work arounds that might pertain to your particular situation.
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I thought the other forum was from the same group, but maybe not....
     
    #3 Saltgrass, Oct 1, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2014
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I think Microsoft wants Windows update left on because any updates to the os will be updated via Windows updates.

    As for the error code did you reboot after installing windows?

    You may need to install your Wi-Fi driver in order to access the signal. Try using Windows 8.1 drivers or even win 7 drivers.
     
    davidhk129 likes this.
  5. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99

    Yes. Forgot about the old-fashioned "reboot" routine.
    That did the trick. Found 2 updates and installed them manually.
    Thank you.

    As to the wifi issue, it really borderlines irrelevant. Don't even know why I brought it up. Sorry.
    My guest os is running on a host os which is on WiFi.
    As long as I can search internet in Win 10, who cares if it says Ethernet or WiFi. My laptop is not Ethernet connected.

    Case close.
     
  6. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I notice in the terms of use for the Insider Program it says MS may have access to your computer. On a VM would that simply be the VM or your Host also? I worry about security more now with all of the recent hackings lately.
    Joe
     
  7. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    No idea. But I don't have personal info stored in the computer.
     
  8. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    WiFi drivers have been a problem with many computers, since Windows 8. As kemical says, you will need to find them and install yourself, for the moment, anyway. And I would confirm that the automatic update situation is deliberate .With automatic updates selected, as on earlier OSs, Microsoft have always had access to your computer, in order to check what updates are needed.
     
  9. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    312
    Legally it is both but as a practical matter vmware blocks it getting past the virtual environment into the host system.
     
  10. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    There was a note that MS updates are turned on and cannot be turned off. This is so any updates are always installed to keep the OS at an equal level for all trying this release.
     
  11. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I've got VMware Workstation 7 and the ISO won't load Windows 8 worked on it OK when it was in beta. I'll try downloading the newest VMware Player on a different PC when I have the time.
    Joe
     
  12. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    312
    10.0.3 is the current but it may be worth holding off as 11 comes out in December.
     
  13. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    When I bought Workstation years ago it was because the free VMware player would not create the virtual machine at that time. After I do the Oct updates from MS and make images I may uninstall Workstation 7 and install the latest free VMware player and see if that works with Windows 10.
    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...