Win10 does not let me change the DNS

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Networking' started by Darjeeling, Aug 8, 2015.

  1. Darjeeling

    Darjeeling New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I frequently change my adapter settings the DNS for TCP/IPv4. But since my update to Windows 10 this option looks like completely locked.

    Right now I have a manual DNS server address inserted (not sure if I ever did put it on my own or not ?) and I want to change it to automatically.But when closing the setup I receive the error message "An unexpected condition occured. Not all of your requested changes in settins could be made."

    please see image below:
    DNS1.PNG
    DNS2.PNG
    DNS3.PNG

    May someone know why this happens?

    Looking forward to your help or comments!
    Darjeeling!
     
    #1 Darjeeling, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015
  2. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    The image above shows you have vmware installed... a Network Bridge will need to be removed before you can change the settings of its parts.

    p.s. off topic but why would you want to keep mucking about with your dns... it's your computer mate but that sort of defeats the point of having a dns doesn't it?
     
    Darjeeling likes this.
  3. Darjeeling

    Darjeeling New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    ..Thanks a lot, I haven't seen it!

    :red_smile: ....I didn't want to offend anyone!
     
  4. Darjeeling

    Darjeeling New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    360
    Assuming you are left clicking the VMware Bridge Protocol and clicking Uninstall and getting this error. This error means that it can't find the driver to remove it, so you probably just have some cruft stuck in the registry. Attached is a picture for the Virtualbox Bridge driver which works the same as the VMware one. You will need to find the CLSID that corresponds to the VMware bridge driver and delete it and reboot. In the picture {7AF6B074-048D-4444-BFCE-1ECC8BC5CB76} at 1 is the Virtualbox CLSID if you see a second ethernet adapter then you need to delete the CLSID assocaited with that which is {7B967A80-B3A3-41BF-8549-D872661B0997} at 2 in the picture. Th e CLSIDs will probably be different for you. vmnet.
     
    Darjeeling likes this.
  6. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    fyi if you still have vmware installed on that machine then you should have a program called "Virtual Network Editor"... that removes Microsoft control of your network settings and is ime the best place to edit things.
    Screenshot (135).
     
  7. Darjeeling

    Darjeeling New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, finally I've got it solved and deleted the VMware Bridge Protocol !!! Did take me a whole while to find the right CLSID in the regedit !!!

    Thanks again !!!
     
  8. Darjeeling

    Darjeeling New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, finally I've got it solved and deleted the VMware Bridge Protocol !!! Did take me a whole while to find the right CLSID in the regedit !!!

    Thanks again !!!
     
  9. OTT

    OTT Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    13
    Extra info:
    I use VirtualBox and have none of above problems...
    The Bridged Networking Driver doesn't protest if I change DNS settings on the real Adapter.

    OTT
     
  10. Darjeeling

    Darjeeling New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now with VB version 5 finally you can drag and drop, but it is still very difficult that the guest recognizes an USB stick.

    Besides, for some reason VB fails on my new Win10.

    VB failure 1.PNG


    VB failure 2.PNG
     
  11. OTT

    OTT Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    13
    You're not the only one and "Please be aware that Windows 10 is not yet officially supported!".
    Happy reading : VirtualBox Forum

    Be sure to use te latest VirtualBox setup and try restarting the VM multiple (3-5) times !

    OTT
     
  12. Tavpritesh Sethi

    Tavpritesh Sethi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I too am having the same problem and I usually connect my computer to biomedical devices for communicating with them. Therefore @ussnorway, sometimes you DO NEED to change the IP settings. I would appreciate if rather than being rude, you could provide a solution to this problem other than "remove VMware ". I didn't upgrade to Windows 10 to invite day-to-day problems with work.
     
  13. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    1. I'll let the rude comment go.
    2. I didn't say the op needs to remove vmware so perhaps you should read the post again?
    3. modern networks use switches (vmware calls their the 'vertical network editor') and you can use it to set a physical network to have one network address in place A and a different network address in place B... the old ip4 rules no longer apply today mate.

    Best of luck with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...