Windows 10 uses only 75% or 3/4 RAM

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Erez, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My PC has 4.00 GB RAM installed and since I am using windows 10, I have noticed in the Performance tab of Task Manager, that the allocated Memory is not more than 3.0 GB out of 4.0 GB. Why windows 10 restricts? It doesn't use 1 GB available for it and I must use this 1 GB. Most of the times (or even always) My allocated Memory is in range of (2.5 of 3.0). Frequently I get the message: "Your computer is low on memory" and this restriction is causing many open applications to crash and even entire system crash and reboot/restart. I must solve this problem in any cost and if not then I must uninstall windows 10 and go back to windows 7. I need your help.
     
  2. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Which windows 10 are you using 32bit or 64? System specs would help us see whats happening.
     
  3. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using 64 bit. See my tags as well. I mentioned the tag "windows 10 64 bit".
     
  4. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    363
    In the task manager under the performance tab click on Memory on the left and look at the center bottom how much RAM is "Hardware reserved"?
     
  5. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the tip
     
  6. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Where did you mention this.....?????

    Please provide your system spec if custom built or brand/make/model if this is an OEM PC/laptop.
     
  7. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    what "this" refers to? I have Ivory PC and 4 GB RAM. My question is about the operating system windows 10, that decides to use only 3 out of my 4 GBs and it doesn't use 1 GB available for it. I just want to know what's wrong with this operating system. My PC is fine.
     
  8. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    363
    Please post the info requesting in reply #4
     
  9. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    So I take it you have an OEM PC. I'm not sure what you mean by "Ivory PC".

    With out the brand/make/model.....we can't provide the correct path/direction of advice. With out that information...it's just a guessing game. So I'll take a guess at it. Assuming this is a OEM PC, you're running 64 bit OS, you have a total of 4 GB RAM........this means that your onboard GPU has RAM being allocated to it by the OS. This is normal under any installed OS.
     
  10. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is OEM PC? I am running 64 bit OS and I have a total of 4 GB RAM and I have 2024 MB shared system memory with the GPU and RAM. You are right bassfisher6522
     
  11. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    363
    OEM = original equipment manufacturer. In other words is it a prebuilt box hp, dell, etc or did you build it
     
  12. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My father brought me this PC. I don't know if it's OEM or not, but I think that I remember that dad told me that this PC was built in place in Ivory.
     
  13. William B

    William B Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    34
    OEM PC generally means something like a pre-built Dell, Acer, Lenovo, H.P, Gateway, etc.
     
  14. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are Dell, Acer, Lenovo, H.P, Gateway, etc are PC makers companies?
     
  15. William B

    William B Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yes they are and there are more mostly lesser known. Before there was also E-Machines, IBM (now Lenovo), Toshiba (they make some regular desktops as well as laptops, Sony (they did make desktops before) and some others like Acer they make both.
     
  16. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My father only told me that he bought this PC from Ivory. That's all what I know, and there is still the Ivory label/tag on the front of my PC, oh and now I notice another label/tag of intel Pentium. I have a dualcore CPU! What a shame!
     
  17. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,051
    Likes Received:
    302
    Hi

    While I guess that it's possible to have a 64 bit Pentium processor, most of them are 32 bit.

    If it is a 32 bit processor that would explain why it is only using 3 gigabytes of ram.

    I couldn't find any listing for Ivory brand computers, so I can't find any info on your computer.

    4 gigabytes of ram is really low for Windows 10, you might be better off if you did go back to Windows 7, you computer would probably run better.

    Did you run the compatibility test before you upgraded?

    To see what version you’re using on Windows 10, 32 or 64 bit, open up the old Control Panel and click on the System window.

    Mike
     
    #17 MikeHawthorne, Sep 21, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2016
  18. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    MikeHawthorne asked me:
    "Did you run the compatibility test before you upgraded?"

    My response: No I didn't! I didn't know that there is compatibility test! I am idiot! No one told me about this.

    MikeHawthorne also told me:
    "4 gigabytes of ram is really low for Windows 10, you might be better off if you did go back to Windows 7, you computer would probably run better."

    Thanks for telling me that. Now sure I am going back to Windows 7. Next time I will return to Windows 10 is when I get at least 8 gigabytes RAM.

    Thank you man!
     
  19. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Honorable Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    219
    Sounds like a Clone-PC; I've never heard of them either. Don't know what country that PC was built in, but I'm guessing nowhere in North America. In any case, you have your solution in the meantime. Go back to Win7 until you can get more RAM for your PC. Unless it is a 32-bit CPU chip, in which case adding more RAM will be pointless; at that juncture you'll need to replace the Motherboard with a 64-bit CPU chip and then you can go past the 3GB RAM barrier we mentioned.

    <<<BIGBEARJEDI>>>
     
  20. Erez

    Erez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Understood
     

Share This Page

Loading...